• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

RadioShack Thermal Compound

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lethal

Yeah, I just bought this crappy RadioChack heatsink compound and I was wondering if it was ok to use on my processor. I'm pretty sure it's the same stuff as like Alumina but I'm new at this and wanted to make sure.

-Here's some specage.-

Silicon-Base
Contains Polysiloxane and Zinc Oxide

NASsoccer

On a string I was held Senior
personally i would never use it on anything if i can get my hands on artic silver or alumina. TO answer your question though, yes could put it on your proc but with one of the above mentioned greases( i use AS3 for cpus not) you will notice a significant difference in temps. So people have dropped 5 C just by switching to artic silver or alumina.

rivercom9

Its ok if you just need something to put in between. Besides, it pretty cheap so you wouldnt be out much if you only used it once.

OP
L

Lethal

Thanks man. I would definately use AS or AL if I can get it. But my credit card rights are on hiatus and I can't find any store near me that sells it. For now I'll have to settle for this. Thanks again.

OP
L

Lethal

Another quick question(s)

When I'm applying this stuff should I keep my processor in the motherboard? Or should I take it out? Or take out the whole mobo? And once I get the heatsink on should I keep the board flat or can i set it back up again? Is there some kind of waiting period? The AS website doesn't mention anything like this.

NASsoccer

Re: Another quick question(s)

Lethal said: