• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

RAID noob

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pennarin

Registered
Hi all, noob here. Heh :)

I have the money for more than one drive, but do not need storage capacity beyond about 750GB. I'm going for the 7,200RPM 750GB variety. I love my heardrums, so I'm staying clear of 10K and 15K varieties, which are currently too small for my needs anyway.

For ordinary everyday usage - apps, gaming, etc - would you recommend RAID 1 ? And if so, do I need any special kind of hardware add-on to my mobo? I never used RAID before...

i used a 15K rpm cheater drive in my comp before I got my raptor. It was quiet, it had the fluid dynamic bearing, the read/writes were audible, i liked it though, read/writes with some power. what motherboard do you have, it may have built in raid support. I really think one raptor is sufficient for most users. raptor for your o/s/games. 7200rpm drive for storage.

EVGA nForce 750i SLI FTW.

So two big capacity drives like that 750GB one, in RAID 1 for safety, and one independent 10K or 15K low capacity drive to play high end games?

Then how do you set it up so the system uses the faster drive to access or write down game-related data? I'm barely getting on understanding partionning and such basic drive settings as of yet, still a lot of way to go.

I think you may have missed a vital point
do you realise you need 2 identical drives for raid?

are you looking for speed or security

So two big capacity drives like that 750GB one, in RAID 1 for safety, and one independent 10K or 15K low capacity drive to play high end games?

Then how do you set it up so the system uses the faster drive to access or write down game-related data? I'm barely getting on understanding partionning and such basic drive settings as of yet, still a lot of way to go.