• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid or not to Raid

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mikie

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
I'm getting an Abit kt7a should I or should I not get the Raid board I only plan on running 1-40 gig hd at this time?
 
OP
M

Mikie

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Wouldn't you buy a 40 gig western digital7200 rpm boxed for $139
 

Rocky55

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
nope go with the raid board and atleast 1 ibm 75gxp hd. They are alot faster then the western digitals. Trust me i have a wd.
 

diehrd

Senior SMP Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
NY
Raid is server tecnolgy,it is usefull for the home user but I opted to pass on it.I am unfamialar with it and that is the reason I stayed away from it,also it is new to the home market so you may want to read up on it and let people with it tell you what thay use it for.
 

YahooDave

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
You never know what the future will hold. If you can afford the RAID board, buy it. You can get amazing through-put in RAID 0.
 

Bovon

Registered
Joined
Mar 10, 2001
You may be able to use one HDD if you go the Raid mobo route, and only use the IDE headers, and disable raid...but, if you use the raid headers, you have to have 2 drives of equal size and speed. Several of us are trying to get some raid boards going as 8 IDE headers instead of doing it the raid way.
 

Metaxas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
I suggest getting the board with raid available on it. Even though you do not plan to use it at this time, expandibility is always a good thing...'ey? :) Not only that, when you do acquire the lettuce to bust out another (same size, same model, same interface speed) HDD then you will have twice the room, and pretty much twice the speed. And that's always a good thing. ;D