• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid problem (?)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Solari

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2003
Location
Helsinki, Finland
Hello, I have this very annoying problem at the moment. Everytime I try to copy something from my harddisk to another (or even from one partition to another), I get a bluesscreen that says something about FDCBNT.sys having some sort of problem. The computer is very stable as long as I don't copy/move anything, wierd huh? :confused:

This is what I have inside my case:
Silverstone 480W
Asus P4P800 SE mobo
Intel P4 3.0C
2x Kingston HyperX 256MB (BH-5)
PNY GF 6800 GT
ADSL PCI-modem
Intel 10/100 PCI-card
NEX 2510 8X DVD-RW
2x Maxtor SerialATA 160GB in Raid 0 (after that partitioned to 20,80 and 200GB partitions, as the 20GB is for Windows XP Pro SP1)
1x Maxtor 120GB IDE 7200rpm 8MB cache
1x Maxtor 60GB IDE 7200rpm

This is what I know:
- The problem is not caused by lack of power in the PSU, as I have tried to disconnect all devices I don't need (ADSL-card, Intel 10/100 NIC, both IDE HD's and the DVD-RW). The voltages are always stable and quite good as well.
- The problem is always the same, I have tried installing XP several times, and everytime I get the same error in the bluescreen
- Memory has nothing to do with this problem, since I have tested with other modules as well
- The problem only occurs when I'm using my harddisks a lot. When copying small files everything is ok.
- The bsod is usually occuring randomly, but not as I have a fresh copy of Windows installed.
- The bsod occurs also when moving files&folders from one partition to another inside the Raid.
- I tried searching the forums, but no-one seems to have problems with fdcbnt.sys bsod.

Am I not seeing something here? Anyone of you know what can be done? If you need more info about anything (drivers, specs, BIOS settings), I can give it to you. :eh?:
 

wquiles

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Location
Dallas, Texas
Along the lines of what Vio1 suggested, is your system Prime95 stable? Just curious that maybe you can boot, but you might be running a "marginally" unstable system.

Another idea: does your RAID system has diagnostic software/utilities for it?

What happens if you try to run a disk-error check on the RAID array? What if you try to run the defragmentation on it?
 
OP
Solari

Solari

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2003
Location
Helsinki, Finland
The computer is stock at the moment, I even tried to boot up with 201 FSB (1:1 and 4:5 ratios), not to get the ultra-fast factory-settings by Asus. :p

I'll try to prime95 and defragment it now and see what happens.
 
OP
Solari

Solari

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2003
Location
Helsinki, Finland
There, some testing has been done. Defragmenting the HD's went without a hassle. Prime95 gives randomly a "prime95.exe has encountered an error and needs to be shut down" after torture in "Blend"-mode. First time I tried it came after 10secs of torture, now the second time it has been priming for about 5 minutes.

I also tried to install Win XP on an old 10GB IDE hard drive, but the same problems occur then also (SATA drives not attached). I am 100% sure my memory modules work, since they do at the moment in another computer. I did not have a CD to burn memtest86 on, so I couldn't test that prog. What seemed to be a SATA-problem in the beginning, is more and more likely to be a motherboard issue, right? :confused:
 

shadowdr

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
I would run chkdsk on all the drives. A failing hard drive will do it's best to corrupt data on all the others even if they are on the PCI bus.Anytime they communicate the bad will throw random errors at the other.I would run the diagnostic tools from the manufacturers to at least rule out an upcoming SMART failure.Speedfan is a good utility to monitor your temps and also the hard drives.
 
OP
Solari

Solari

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2003
Location
Helsinki, Finland
I don't think the problem is in the HD's anymore. Since I have tried to install Windows only on IDE-drives, and only on the new Sata-drives. Either way, the other type of HD's were completely disconnected, and the IDE's worked fine before putting in these new SATA ones. The problem lies somewhere beneath, just can't figure out where.

I'm gonna try with another 865PE mobo with ICH5R SATA-Raid and see what it says.

The problem is that it only affects when I'm moving/copying files and stuff. Only once in 4-5h does my computer crash while gaming / 3dmark benching, and when it does, it's because of the same fdcbnt.sys file in the bsod. Really strange to say the least. I just had a long session of 3DMark & CS, and it crashed only once during that time. If changing the mobo doesn't help, then I'm speechless. :bang head
 
OP
Solari

Solari

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2003
Location
Helsinki, Finland
Well it seems like I managed to locate the problem. It was my CPU that can't handle HT. When disabling HT from bios, everything runs smoothly. :bang head

How much does disabling HT reduce the speed? Should I RMA it because of this or what to do? This is a descent individual, as it overclocks to about 3.6GHz with default vcore.