• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid Q?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ltww

I'm gonna use this RAID configuration 80gb RAID 0 ( 2 x 40gb Maxtor D740X fluid bearings ), but I'm a newbie to RAID. I use my computer for web design, programming and games. Will using RAID improve on performance or could it slow it down?

I really want to join two 40gb into one 80gb, but was wondering about performance.

Are there any stability issues?

And are Maxtors any good for RAID or am I better off using them as two normal 40gb drives?

RAID 0, aka Stripping, writes the data across two (or higher multiples of 2) drives and allows both drives to transfer data at the same time as long as you put each drive on an individual channel (IDE Connector). So you should see a noticible improvement in I/O performance. I noticed the difference immediately upon setting up my first RAID 0 config. Good luck. You can find a good basic explination of RAID 0 and it's pros and cons here.

Nice link. I don't have any experience with IDE RAIDS only SCSI. I don't think you can run a stripe set ( RAID 0 ) as yopu boot srive so you would need another hd to use as the boot device. All things considered you should get good performance with a stripe set compared with straight drives, but if any of those drives fail, all of you data across all drives is lost. You would have to have a way of backing that up often. Like I said I've only ran SCSI RAIDS, and usually run level 5, as it gives me decent performance and dedundancy, and only costs me one drive ( n-1)

Can I use a RAID controller card to boot a RAID array or will that only work with onboard RAID?