• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid question.....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

medic109vince

Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
When using Raid(0) for just stipping the system only recognizes the array as 1 single drive right?

When you load your os does it split it up as well across the array?

What performance increase will you realize and under what applications will this be of benefit?

Will the number of disks in the array affect performance?

Thanks,

Vince
 

Tachyon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Location
Arkansas
medic109vince (Feb 02, 2001 02:54 p.m.):
When using Raid(0) for just stipping the system only recognizes the array as 1 single drive right?

When you load your os does it split it up as well across the array?

What performance increase will you realize and under what applications will this be of benefit?

Will the number of disks in the array affect performance?

Thanks,

Vince

#1 - Yes
#2 - All programs are striped across all disks in the array. For thatreason, it is prudent to back up critical data in case one drive in the array crashes.
#3 - The performance increase is recognizable only under "bursty" data transfers soch as loading large AutoCAD or Photoshop files. Under sustained transfers there is no measurable performance increase. Windoze and games, etc. will perfom normally.
#4 - You need a minimum of 2 disks for RAID 0. More disks will not increase performance, but with 3 or more disks you can run RAID 0+1 (mirroring) and use the RAID 1 drive(s) to mirror your RAID 0 setup.

I hope that was clear and understandable :)
 

AZZKICKER

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
North Little Rock, Arkansas
well in my exsperiance running ATA66 with one drive and running ATA66 RAID0 2 drives alike the singel that everything runs (seemingly) like its 50 time faster

EVERYTHING runs really FAST

Q3 loves it....loading a big CTF map only takes me about 4 seconds

on the singel it took about 10 seconds

also just booting and shutting doen is lighting fast

im running a KT7A-RAID with 2 20 gig ATA66 7200 rpm drives and there FAST !!!!!

i built a friend of mine a machine with the same board and 2 IBM GPX75 drives

first thing he said whe he turned it on was F**K thats fast

and he works on big power workstations for Axiom Corp. (WOULD WIDE DATA BASE COMPANY) and he said he aint never seen anything so fast
and had my old T Bird 850 @ 1000 133 fsb

i put his 1.2 gig t bird in today running a 133 fsb and seen mineimal differnce...

yes RAID is very fast in all APPs

also running RAID 0,1 is the best setup to do

i beleave that because your running superfast and if you RAID) goes out
you have a perfect back up

awsome RAID on IDE also these days

we have the best of both world....cheep drives and RAID speed

now all we need is 10,000RPM IDE DRIVES

now then we would pass up the SCSI guys in performance !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

Tachyon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Location
Arkansas
Hey Azz,

Loading that Q3 CTF map is a perfect example of a "burst" data transfer that RAID does so much faster. Gotta love the IBM Deskstar drives too!!
 

Metaxas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
Heh, that's why I bought 2 75GXP 30Gigers, they should be here tommorrow. ;D I'm defainatly going to raid. I am going to Raid 5 just because of the enhanced storage space, and the protection from loss of data due to a drive biting the dust.