• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Random reboots?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pwnt by pat

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Location
Cranberry Twp. PA
Hey, I built a comp for a friend and he keeps having reboot problems. The comp is this:

Athlon XP 3200 (newegg)
Abit NF7-S v2.0 (excaliber pc)
Hardcorecooling CH5 ram 2-2-2-5 @2.6 200mhz
100gb hard drive on pata-to-sata converter (zipzoomfly)
Xtasy 9800 pro 128 256-bit (allstarshop or gameve, I forget)
volcano 12 @ lowest speed.

After formatting and installing windows xp, I installed chipset drivers from the cd, video drivers from the cd, direct x, upgraded chipset and video drivers in that order.

The computer is at stock speed, stock voltages, stock timings... everything "loaded from optimized defaults". The computer will randomly reboot. It's rebooted at least three times since last night. It rebooted while accessing a cd, playing a game, and accessing a downloaded video. There is no shutdown temperature and it reads 35c after the reboot. It has me baffled.

I just now (literally) told him to max dram and chipset voltages and set cpuvoltage to 1.7 and we'll see if that helps.

What might it be?
 

100mbHD

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Location
Los Angeles, CA
I was first going to say what are temps, but at 35*C, it should be good. How is the power supply? is it sufficient enough for that setup?
 
OP
pwnt by pat

pwnt by pat

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Location
Cranberry Twp. PA
It's a generic 550w that came with the case. I estimated it to be about 250-350w during actual use. That's still enough for his computer. That was my second guess and there's no way to check unless I go over there with my multimeter and check myself.

If it's not the temperature, and it's not the powersupply then all I can think it is is a bad install or a bad pata-sata converter. The board only shipped with one ide cable and I didn't have a spare at the time.
 

scottmso

Registered
Joined
May 17, 2004
I wouldn't be surprised if it may be the PSU. Even if it isn't, it may be best to replace the generic one. Get a FSP from Newegg.
 

Arkan21

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
I had the same problem. There is a setting in windows where you can tell it not to reboot during a system faliure. Right Click my computer and go to properties, then advance, then startup and recovery. Yeah my problem was a BAD Ram module. Does you friend have 1 or 2 modules? You might want to run memt86 to see if you have a bad module.
 
OP
pwnt by pat

pwnt by pat

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Location
Cranberry Twp. PA
He has two sticks of 512. If upping the voltage doesn't help him, I'll have him run some programs like memtest to see what's wrong.
 

@md0Cer

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Location
Denver, CO
I wouldnt doubt it if it was some type or a worm or virus or something. This dell I am on just recently started getting random reboots too. I keep checking www.symantec.com...but I do not see any curent virus that does this. I recently started getting restarts and then I could not turn it on either. If I find anything out for my system, I will let you know ;)