• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

rebuild or retire, gtx760

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
one of my twin gtx760's, gigabyte GV-N760oc-2gd is starting to show signs of needing a rebuild.
Not able to reach the same clocks, starting to heat in the same benches, we've all seen this before.
I really only use these cards for head units and benching against my watercooled titan for grins and giggles once in a while.
Being 760's from 2013 are they even worth the time and effort to clean retim?
it's so hard to decide, they are from 2013 and not worth much on the open market, but on the other hand, as a pair, they are wonderful. In sli I have to give up sooooo little to get them synced up and nip at the heals of my titan.
what would you do?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Worth it is up to you, not us.

*It takes 10 mins to take it apart, wipe, apply tim, and put it back together...

*Id imagine the 760 is worth $100, no(look and see)? Is it worth it to do the above, 5 mins to post it to sell, package it when it sells and take it to the post office?

Maybe fold with them?? Make them useful instead of for only grins and giggles?

You know what needs to happen... is it worth it to ya? Should i move this to GD? A couch for $100 an hour perhaps? :p
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
I really hate selling my older stuff, I hate the thought of them blowing up two weeks after.
Tha's A good idea, I still have 2 7970,s that other people have been kind enough to let me use slots in their rigs on this team, so I guess I'll do a current ppd test and see if it's an upgrade for those.
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Either way C_D I think you're gonna have to re-tim the card anyway so might as well start there
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
slave drivers!!!!!!

how much tim are you guys finding you need to use on a gpu?
I have found I need to use quite A bit more on the gpu dies, in relation to size, than I need on a cpu.
 

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
My 660ti (roughly the same horsepower as the 760) got a re-tim and is working like a champ now, playing ME:Andromeda 1080p with a mix of low and high settings :thup:
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
slave drivers!!!!!!

how much tim are you guys finding you need to use on a gpu?
I have found I need to use quite A bit more on the gpu dies, in relation to size, than I need on a cpu.
Typically less than a CPU... the die is half the size... but it depends on the cooler too... if its direct contact heatpipes, a little more to fill in those gaps.
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
that might explain it, I have to get it to slop over the edges.
 

Suppressor1137

Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
My 770 sold for $80, granted it was on the low end of what 770s go for. I doubt that it'd go for 100. Maybe 70 to the right person.
 
OP
caddi daddi

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
yea, I'm seeing the writing on the wall......
they are not worth selling and worrying over, sadly, they are best suited for folding, donationware.