• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Removing the heatsink of my brand new 9800 Pro lead me do dissapointment. :(

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yamiyanazz

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2004
Location
Oregon
After upgrading from a 9200, the 9800 Pro had me stoaked. While deciding which to purchase, I made sure to get the retail version since they had been shipping 9800 pro with the r360 (xt) cores. I'm telling everybody that I'm going to be running a 9800 xt, and now they all think I will be.

I had it installed. The power is magnificant! What I decided to do, is check the core and make sure that I did, in fact, get the correct core... Guess what? I DIDN'T! I was absoloutly shocked...:eek: I payed the extra $30 to go with the retail because I thought I had a 100% chance of getting the better core. It was incredibly upsetting when I found it marked 350...:bang head

Besides just complaining, does anyone know of something I could do to trade it in and give it another shot at the 360 core, or a way to just make my card better than I think it will be. Will it still be XT flashable?

Help...
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
There's no reason to be upset.

I don't know why everyone's fussing over the R360's. They aren't better than the R350 in any way, and they seem to overclock a little worse than R350's anyways. The only difference is the temp sensor(and who needs that?) You can still flash to an XT, no worries.
 
OP
Yamiyanazz

Yamiyanazz

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2004
Location
Oregon
Well, I just wanted the temp thermomoter...but if it overclocks better, then I'll live. So I can still flash to the XT you say? Thank you! You made my day feel soooooooooOOOO much better!
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
Yeah, no probs. If you really wanna confuse your friends, you can try flashing to a 256mb XT. I did and it worked for me...on my 128mb 9800 non pro. :p
 

Albis521

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
well if you have an r350 and flash to a 9800xt, you might have problems in some games

and if you use the 256 9800xt bios and the game requires more than 128mb, you'll prolly hit errors
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
Albis521 said:
well if you have an r350 and flash to a 9800xt, you might have problems in some games

and if you use the 256 9800xt bios and the game requires more than 128mb, you'll prolly hit errors
Yeah you're probably right about the 256mb part. I haven't really tested that outside of 3DMark. Normally I just use the 128mb BIOS. But with that, it's all peachy.
 

mustrum

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
I really don't understand all the fuss about this. The r360 cores don't even OC that well. All for the temp sensor.
Most likely your r350 will OC way past a 9800XT easy.
Hell even my 3 year old 9700 clocks close to a 9800XT. :p
 

JCLW

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
You need a R360 core plus the temp sensor circuitry on the PCB to have temp monitoring. Just having the R360 core alone won't do it.
 

WheaT

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Location
Minnesota
JCLW said:
You need a R360 core plus the temp sensor circuitry on the PCB to have temp monitoring. Just having the R360 core alone won't do it.

So basically, if you have a 360 core and you get temp sensoring, then you have an xt pcb?
 

WheaT

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Location
Minnesota
I have no idea whatsoever. I dont know what is causing that. I mean my 03 score is pretty hot, and if I wasnt having trouble with my manual overclocking I could prob get around 6900 with a 3.5, however I think i need a new MB. Stupid thing, anyways it doesnt make too much sense, I was thinking I was going to hit around 18000+ but thats what I got. Any ideas? hehe. BTW how did you get your sig to look like that?

About the pcb then....I have r360 core, hynix 2.5ns, and i have my temp monitor working on my card. Must mean i have an XT pcb!
 

itim100

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2002
Location
MD
omfg, yeah, how did you do your sig? Im hoping you didn't sit there and do the colors line by line, cuz im too lazy for that... :D