• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

replace 2.4b with 2.4c ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

microfire

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2001
Thinking of getting a secondhand 2.4c and replacing my 2.4b. The person says hes never overclocked it, so I don't know what speed it will do, its a SL6WF stepping D1.

The 2.4b ive got is good for 3.06ghz and about 3.2ghz and some volts if I put it in the AI7 board. I just run it at 3ghz and never misses a beat

I thinking of getting a motherboard 865/875 to make use of the 1gb of CH-5 thats in the old 845 motherboard.

Should I get the 2.4ghz as well?
or keep the 2.4b and get another motherboard, and run 4:5, this divider doesn't boost buffered bandwidth much but certainaly appears to boost unbuffered bandwidth.
 
Last edited:

batboy

Senior Moment
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Kansas, USA
Well, a 2.4C certainly will have much higher FSB and also HT, both of which will add performance over the 2.4B. Chances are really good that it'll O/C higher too. Even the early 2.4C's will average 3.2 to 3.3 gig. That means buying a mobo too if the 2.4B is in a i845 mobo. Is it worth it? That's for you to decide. What will it be used for? If it's just a backup rig, then the old system is probably fine.
 
OP
M

microfire

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2001
Thats a tough one, it does alot on low powered mutlitasking stuff, but also use it for emulators through my tv, and some minor gaming. Its soon to get my 9700 in couple of weeks.

I guess I could use the HT for the mutlitasking. I know cpu power helps with emulators, but im not expecting much more if any at all with the 2.4c compared to the 2.4b that can do 3ghz @ 1.4v. I wonder if the bandwidth will help with emulators.

I could sale the 2.4b and exchange it for the 2.4c in threoy
If I keep the 2.4b there is a heap of memory bandwidth wasted with single channel board im using, with dual channel the unbufferedbandwidth will be twice as high. Installing a new motherboard and OS is a job in itself, a fun job, might lose my IDE raid0, ive only got one IDE-SATA adaptor.

yep its a hard choice. I could do the change over if I sale my old parts for ~$100
 

CheeZeTM

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Location
Louisiana
ahh yea, i knw how the re-formatting this goes, not sure about hte raid (never ran it) my P4C800-e dlx has a raid connector built on but i would have to get another 2 hard dirves to use it, and i am current lookking for a VGA card, any suggestion on a VGA, we are disscussing it in the Nvidia forum right now if u wanna stop by

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=313033
 
OP
M

microfire

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2001
I brought the 2.4c, just got to wait for it to arrive.

What are the SL6WF like, the owner claims he ran it stock with a thermaltake copper cooler. the dude asures me it never been overclocked, I guess I have to believe him.

Now the IT7 has to go, make room for dual channel. hmmm, what board, my old AI7 in second rig maybe and a new shinny motherboard for main rig?

btw. got some BH-5 on the way that may just do 250 dual, from what im told one stick does, the other 242, both at 3.2v, If I could only just up the volts to 3.3v or 3.4v I will hit 250+ dual. Corsair water cooler maybe take my 3.2C to atleast 3.8ghz or 3.9tops?
 
Last edited:

hUMANbEATbOX

Contributing Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
if you can do 242 on that ram at 3.2v i would go with a ai7, you won'dt need any mods i don't think.

realistically, if its a good 2.4c you are looking at what i've got in my sig. 288fsb, for just shy of 3.5. in the winter it goes to 3.6, 300fsb. you are going to have to run that 5:4 with the bh5 i would think, so 242 is more than enough really at 2-2-2-5.

it will be fast and fun, gl!
 

batboy

Senior Moment
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Kansas, USA
Two sticks of RAM will only go as fast as the slowest stick. RAM in single channel tends to O/C a little better than dual channel. I would not expect 250 dual. That's ok though... use high FSB, the 5:4 ratio, and super tight timings. It will rock! I had one of those SL6WF 2.4C and it was 110% stable at 275 FSB (3.3 gig). Nothing has better vdimm at 3.2v at of the box than the AI7. Anything else will require volt modding.
 
OP
M

microfire

Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2001
I have three sets to play with:

TwinMos 1gb winbond CH-5

Corsair 1gb 3200LLPRO winbond CH-5

Corsair 1gb XMS3500 winbond BH-5