• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Rgone you should like this, more to come

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

davedree

Updates below in post 2

Hello all who read this, I have many years of experience using Amd processors and clocking them. My first amd was a k6 II 500, numerous socket A's, 939's My last was a PhII x2 555. Unfortunately since purchase of a 2600k back in 2011, I've been with Intel too long and i'm so bored as I can't see a route to upgrade !! I have followed the am3 fx series but never was impressed by them except the value of the fx6300, however I am really looking forward to Kaveri and its cpu-gpu compute, (Hsa), although I'm disappointed that the igpu I predict will offer around 7730-7750 ddr3 performance.

Anyway I used to run an athlon x4 620 c2, using a titan fenrir cooler on a ga-ma770 ud3 rev 2.0 using ddr2
This was clocked at 3.6ghz, and nb-cpu was around 2640 I think.
I bought my dad an x2 555 back in dec 2010 for 69quid, x4 955s's were around 130-160 at the time. Whilst setting up my dads machine, I discovered it unlocked into an x4 b55.
So we swapped cpu's and I was left to explore what it could do, in an x2 mode it would get about 4.4ghz and x4 it would hold 4.2ghz, I ran it as an x4 for over a year and a half at 1.55v using cool and quiet.

Since going to Intel I then gave my dad the x2 but ran it as an x2 as his board only had a 3+1 vrm setup.

Just recently due to boredom I decided I wanted to do a few experiments,

1. Buy an inxpensive am3+ board that unlocks a phII but can handle an fx6300 possibly mild clocked fx8 to see what it can do.

2.See what the b55 can still do,