• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

rig acting funny

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
ok my info is in the sig. most of it anyhow ask if u need more.
it just started acting up.took hour and half to str8en out.
wouldnt boot into windows.locked up and blanked out in bios.
my keyboard is acting funny. wont type as i do.
my -12 line is -13.15. my 5v line is swinging eradic down to 4.65-4.78.
when i did get into my bios. after clearing cmos.it wouldnt stick .kept resetting its self.then it said my vga test failed!

WTF! id be scared as heck but this isnt the first time ive heard of this kinda action. asus im refering to.it may be my psu dumping on me tho.its weak and is getting replaced next week.

also when all this happened it knocked out my video drivers and my lan! had to reinstall vid and do a rescue on my lan.

btw i wasnt doing nothing but surfing the net so it isnt something i created by messing with it.actually im kinda scared to restart it.:(
btw i had to do the take mobo and barebones it out of the case a week and half ago. grounded out from what i was told. but then it just did nothing like it was dead.didnt act screwy.
any thoughts? hopefully i can make it back here to read sujjestions lol
 

OC Detective

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Location
Mauritius
Couple of things - first your fsb is at 174 and you are using PC2100 that may have caused probs with your RAM (was your Vdimm at default?) Dont worry about the -12V thats only relevant for serial port communication but the 5V line as you have already pointed out is a definite issue. Couple of other q's - whats ur vcore and whats ur temps.
 

Maximouse

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
deathstar13 said:
my 5v line is swinging eradic down to 4.65-4.78.
when i did get into my bios. after clearing cmos.it wouldnt stick .kept resetting its self.then it said my vga test failed!

WTF! id be scared as heck but this isnt the first time ive heard of this kinda action. asus im refering to.it may be my psu dumping on me tho.its weak and is getting replaced next week.

I believe the video card is very dependant on the 5v line. My bets are that weak reading is probably the cause of your problems and replacing the PSU may be the only resolution.
But, since you had an issue with it before, maybe you could take the board out of the case and try it like that again.

Good Luck
Al
 
OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
yeh definatly the psu is my lead suspect.the 5vline is horrable.i had 2 psu's in paralell ,but i took that out as to put one back in my back up.
at the moment im running 11.5x174=2004. 40c.
i think its a touch of both the psu,and the grounding issue.as everything seems clear now.im watching for the reoccuring loss of bios settings again also.hasent happened since last night tho.
 

Maximouse

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
deathstar13 said:
at the moment im running 11.5x174=2004. 40c.
i think its a touch of both the psu,and the grounding issue.as everything seems clear now.im watching for the reoccuring loss of bios settings again also.hasent happened since last night tho.

You could always try running stock speeds until your psu is replaced. I know with mine if I set it to high and it refuses to run then the Bios will reset to default settings. Maybe your psu being weak wont allow the overclock sometimes.
 
OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
stock? whats that? lol
well im just hoping the psu dont take a flaming dive on me.and take most my rig with it. yeh its that cheap of a psu. came in a case i bought for $35! i guess i shouldnt complain i knew it was junk. i even bought a replecement for it with my last rig. but alas sold it when i sold my last rig. gets replaced next week tho.:)