• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

right POT for vdimm mod?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rashio_UK

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Newcastle, UK
hi,
i am about to do the vdimm mod to my p4c800(well actually as soon as i get the stuff) but i am not quite sure if that is the right POT to use for the mod?
could some 1 check, who has done the mod, and tell me if it is the right 1? and which spikes on the POT do i solder to the mobo(pin 6) and which spike to ground?

link
it is the 50k 1 at the bottom of the page in the list

thanks
 

Grandpa Dan

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2003
Location
OC moderator @intelforums.net
That link doesn't give a photo. I posted a link and a picture in the volt. mod thread. Any of the pot's that say "single turn...50k" will work. The center leg is the ground. Either of the others can go to pin 6. If you get the grabbers there is no soldering required.
 
OP
Rashio_UK

Rashio_UK

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Newcastle, UK
does it matter which outside leg i connect to pin 6?
because when i touch the left leg and the middle with the multimeter it will say 46.8 but when i touch the right leg and the middle it will say 2.3

does it not matter because once connected?
 

dannybruk

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Try turning the pot to the other side and you should see the values reversed, or is that at the middle?
 

dannybruk

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
That's fine then, it's varying the resistance from 0 -> 50kohm, as it's supposed to.

Chuck it in and get playing! :D

Edit: On either leg, doesn't matter...
 
OP
Rashio_UK

Rashio_UK

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Newcastle, UK
now i have connected up the wires with the POT but not connected it to the pc yet because as i am reading the guide it says i need to set my multimeter to DC10 or 20 voltage and when i connect the red to the VDC left leg and the black to ground it is meant to say 2.54(or something like that) when i do it it says 0.04
i am connecting it to the right leg as i am looking at 2 different guides on the net and that is the right chip
i dont understand what my DC10 or 20 voltage meter setting is on my multimeter?
i have been through all the numbers on it that say 10 or 20 on it and non of then read 2.54?

this is a picture of what my multimeter looks like:
http://www.maplin.co.uk/media/largeimages/30055i0.jpg
 
OP
Rashio_UK

Rashio_UK

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Location
Newcastle, UK
i have the ram in and i have plugged the red wire 1 slot above where it is in the picture which says 10ADC (10A)
i have moved the dial to the V--- on 20 and it reads 0.00 for some reason there is nothing there even when i plug the red wire in 1 slot above it reeads 0.00

do i need to know the reading of the VDC if i connect even thing up can i not just see what vdimm i have it at through the bios or a program in windows?
i have the POT set at its max resistant already so if i just move it around abit and then read the vdimm in windows, wont that work?

i will only think of this if i can not get my multimeter to read the 2.54 because atm it reads 0.00