• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Saphire 9500,infineon 3.3,ramclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Twister1234

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Location
Germany
I have gotten my new cooling for my softmodded 9500,and can easy go up with gpu to 360 MHz(havent tried more yet),but if i go up to 300 MHr ramspeed,i will get artefacts,can there something be done(ram isnt cooled,and gpu cooler,is thermaltake giant 2-heatpipe)?

heard of voltage mods,are they neccessary?(and where can i get infos) i would like to have the same ramspeed like a 9700 pro,if its possible :p
 
OP
T

Twister1234

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Location
Germany
in normal 3 d use(playing anarchy online atm(without beeing overclocked) they arent real warm,would think about 40 C.

but,getting some ram heatsinks,should be ok...
 
OP
T

Twister1234

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Location
Germany
ok,i m going to buy some ram coolers tomorow,if thats done,how can i get my ram running a liitle bit faster`?
 

nut581

Member
Joined
May 29, 2001
Location
Columbus, OH
I also hit the 297 maximum clock on the RAM .. was thinking on installing ramsinks myself .. but not really sure if it's gonna make any difference .. so please be the test subject and report your finding :D
 

El<(')>Maxi

Blank Senior Member
Joined
May 1, 2003
Location
Seattle
The only way to get any more out of that RAM is with a voltmod. Trust me, I know and have tried it all including nearly every BIOS out there......even a 9800Pro.

And even with the volt mod @3.2v you will only get another 30mhz with RAM sinks.
 

Chris

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2001
Location
England, UK
You can flash with a lower latency BIOS meaning the timings wont be as tight on the memory but you should be able to hit a higher speed on the RAM. Im not sure if the clock speed is worth sacrificing timings you would have to see if anybody has tried it and see what there results are.

-Chris
 
OP
T

Twister1234

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Location
Germany
thats exactly,what i wanted to hear :)

So,has anyone tried it yet,and gotten results,which are wortg the effort?

i think i wont be able,to do any voltmods,cause i m student,and i dont have the right equipment,to do voltmods...
 

Albuquerque

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2003
Location
North America
When I still had my 9500np (before I fried it :( ) I found that the Club3D bios allowed me to clock my memory and core just a few notches higher. Unfortunately, the higehr clockspeed in all games resulted in no performance gain, and even sometimes a performance loss, when compared to the tighter-timing BIOS at lower clockspeed.

All things considered, the card performed best when using it's own bios. I fed my Infineon 3.3ns chips something like 3.2-3.3v to get them to 331mhz and they worked pretty well. Didn't even necessarily need cooling at that level either -- they run pretty cool as-is.

I haven't talked myself into voltmodding my 9800 yet, I'm still working on a faster system.
 

Albuquerque

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2003
Location
North America
No, I fried it because I was dumb with my heatsink. I had a bigass socket 7 heatsink that I lathed, sanded and lapped down along with using a drill press to make two mounting holes in it that line up with the stock HSF holes in the video card.

I then used a pair of steel screws with insulating nylon washers and a pair of standard steel nuts to hold that heatsink down firmly to the card.

The problem? The card was working absolutely fine until I got picky and decided to take it apart to maybe get a slightly thinner layer of heatsink goo between the core and my sink. Cleaned it, reapplied the goo, put the heatsink back on, put the steel screws back through it and retightened the nuts.

I didn't replace the nylon washers...

Turn the machine on, and I get no video along with a nice burning smell. Oops :(
 
OP
T

Twister1234

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Location
Germany
so you shortened it :p

could you explain,how to voltmod it,to get at least 310 mhz ramspeed(the speed of an original 9700?
 

Chris

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2001
Location
England, UK
I searched around a little and found that Oni flashed his 9700 Pro with a lower latency BIOS and got a few more Mhz from it, you may want to PM him and ask what his results where with Mhz over latency. The hard part would be finding a suitable BIOS, the best place to look would be over at the rage3d forums.

-Chris
 

Namagomi

Disabled
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Location
Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
I've got tweakmonster ramsinks on my 3.3ns 9500 np. 403mhz, artifact-free, with a 3-4 mhz buffer until it starts artifacting.

What's all this about new BIOS? What the hell is the difference between "lower latancy" and "tighter timings?" I'm still running my stock BIOS, and it's working fine just fine for me