• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Seperate Networks on 1 modem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jcw122

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
We currently have an insecure wireless network at my home (DONT HACK ME >.< lol) and i want to get a second wireless network for the new computer that im gonna build. The problem is...i only have 1 cable modem. How do i connect (if its even possible) 2 wireless routers to 1 cable modem? I would appreciate any feedback.
 

TalRW

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Location
Irvine, CA
I would assume it would go

Modem --> Router --> Router 2

I don't know if daisy chaining and then using different subnets would work, but I guess thats how you would do it.
 

Xenocide

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2004
Location
Charlotte, NC
use the one with an uplink port as the secondary one, if you don't have one, you can divide it off by making a second subnet, configure the wan on the 2nd one to static routing from the first one.

id just make the wireless secure and use 1 router
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
You guys are making this too difficult, too complex. You simply use the wireless router as an access point, rather than a gateway. You still only have one of the router's connected to the modem, but they still both can connect to the internet.
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Why do you want to use 2 wireless routers anyway? You don't need one for each computer...
 

TimDgsr

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
I'm guessing he wants a second one because his current one is not secure? Will your family/roommates not let you secure the wireless router already in place?
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
TimDgsr said:
I'm guessing he wants a second one because his current one is not secure? Will your family/roommates not let you secure the wireless router already in place?

jcw122 said:
How do i connect (if its even possible) 2 wireless routers to 1 cable modem?
 

Kendan

Senior Punk
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Location
Dark side of hell
SniperXX said:
Do what JoT said. Also if its cheaper just buy an access point if you dont need the other wired ports on the 2nd router.


The ones I have seen the AP is more expensive than the Wireless Router:confused: especially when most wireless routers are capable of disabling DHCP and being just AP's.
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
Kendan said:
The ones I have seen the AP is more expensive than the Wireless Router:confused: especially when most wireless routers are capable of disabling DHCP and being just AP's.
That's exactly what I said; just buy a wireless router (if need be) and use it as an AP, rather than a gateway.
 

TimDgsr

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
well JoT, he said he wants a second wireless network for his computer. not another access point. so i would assume that he wanted some form of security. why don't you let him respond instead of acting like i didn't read the original post.

edit: it is a complete mystery to me why wireless routers which include the same functionality as an access point + more, are cheaper than just a wireless access point.
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
It makes no sense to create an entirely different network for a single computer, but it does make sense to secure the one you have and expand on it. It looks to me that he doesn't know everything about wireless networks, so he's just using the terminology that makes sense to him (I'm not trying to offend anyone, just trying to make sense of the post and a bit of what the person knows).

It looks as though with the incredibly pace of the internet, it's going to take him a while to respond and more clearly tell us what he's trying to do.

Edit: Actually, now that I read my last post again (at 1:14), it doesn't make much sense, and I apologise. I have been awake for 32 hours, so it's becoming difficult to make an understandable post.
 
OP
jcw122

jcw122

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
correct...my dad doesnt want to secure the wireless network we already have because he doesnt want to have to put in a password and doesnt want me messing with the router...and what do u mean set up a new access point? like get another cable modem? Is there such thing as a ethernet cable splitter? that would help
 

TimDgsr

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
the thing about securing a wireless network is that you don't have to type in a password every time, just the one time you set up your computers configuration for that network.

other than that, you have two options i would think. you could contact your cable company and ask them if you can pay for an additional IP address. at that point you could go cable modem---->hub---->routers, each router being able to draw an ip address from the cable company(you should check and make sure if this is allowed or supported first)

your other option would be to set the routers up to work back to back like suggested above, such as cable modem--->router---->router2. but at this point you would have to make sure you had different subnets, and i could only imagine the problems that could crop up from being behind two NAT devices. would also make port forwarding either hard or impossible, i've never really tried to forward ports to a router then forward the port again to a machine.

I would show your dad about wireless security, and how it's not hard to setup or inconvenient to have. Then just secure the network you already have. either that or run a strict software firewall on your machine in an insecure network.
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Tell you dad if someone happens to wonder onto his network and use it for illegal activities, HE could be held responsible. That should change his tune. Not to mention anyone can get access to your sensitive data.
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
TimDgsr said:
your other option would be to set the routers up to work back to back like suggested above, such as cable modem--->router---->router2. but at this point you would have to make sure you had different subnets, and i could only imagine the problems that could crop up from being behind two NAT devices. would also make port forwarding either hard or impossible, i've never really tried to forward ports to a router then forward the port again to a machine.

You would not have to have additional subnets nor do you have to worry about "being behind two NAT devices" because you don't have to use both as NAT devices, simply use one as a NAT, and one as a WAP. The two WAPs then can communicate with each other and the router, no extra NATs or IPs required.

Your other points are good, though :)
 

TimDgsr

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
JoT said:
You would not have to have additional subnets nor do you have to worry about "being behind two NAT devices" because you don't have to use both as NAT devices, simply use one as a NAT, and one as a WAP. The two WAPs then can communicate with each other and the router, no extra NATs or IPs required.

Your other points are good, though :)

I realize he can use one as an access point, but what he is trying to accomplish is leaving one network open with no security, and he wants the other to have security. The reason he needs one to be open is because his dad is stubborn and won't let him secure the wireless already in place because "if it aint broke, don't fix it"

Since you can't secure "half" of a wireless network, i feel the solutions i have posted are all valid ideas.

The only solution that makes any real sense to me is:

Don't buy anything new, and use the existing wireless network. He just needs to convince his father to let him set it up properly.

But I was just trying to help him accomplish what he asked for originally.

cheers :beer: