• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

should i go for 1066MHZ RDRAM?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Johnny Knoxville

Disabled
Joined
May 29, 2002
I currently have 3 sticks of 256MB 800mhz RDRAM, I have a 2.4GHZ 100FSB pentium 4 with stock cooling, Gigabyte 8IHXP mobo. Do you think i will gain a performance increase by selling these sticks and buying a couple of 1066mhz 256MB RDRAMS? or should i buy a fourth 256MB stick and have 1GB of RAM?
 

Neo_peter

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
you'll definitely gain performance difference, and it'll probably be significant depending on what you do with your computer. i mean if you ahve the money why not?
 

Fluxer

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Location
New York
Of course you'll gain a performance increase, especially since it will eliminate the memory as a bottleneck in your system. With pc1066, the memory will be running at the same speed as the processor.

Quad pumped memory bus!
1066 * 4 = 4264 mb
800 * 4 = 3200 mb

That's a 25% increase in bandwidth, and you already have a board that fully supports pc1066 (in pairs that is, only 16bit).

Personally, i'm buying a Gigabyte 8IHXP, 512mb pc1066 RDRAM, and a p4 2.53B within the next week. They make a nice combo -- fast processor, memory, and a nice stable board.

If you have the money, go for it.
 

FIZZ3

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Location
NL, Europe
Ofcourse PC1066 is faster than PC800, but only if you put the extra bandwidth to use! That means you'll have to clock te FSB to 133Mhz too in order to use the ram to it's full specified potential. The PC1066 is also likely to clock higher than that.

With a 2.4A I'm not so sure you can reach 133 by the way...
 

Fluxer

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Location
New York
FIZZ3 is right. I was thinking your p4 chip was running at 133 FSB (i.e. 533mhz quad pumped bus allowing 4.2gb bandwidth). If your chip isn't overclocked to 133+ FSB then you should probably just save your money and stick with pc800. Otherwise, if you are running 133+ FSB on your p4, then my post above applies.
 

eX&TriC

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
how can you have 3 sticks of PC800 ???
I has to be in pairs unless using 32bit PC1066.
and the u have only 2 memory slots
The only combination is 2 or 4 sticks

Plain and simple
 

Gregory_WE

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Probably doesn't have all 3 in there, most likely just has one pair in there, and thinking about completing a second pair.