• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Should I RMA my new WD HD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Krieger

Hey guys,

I've been wrangling over this for a few months now. I got a western digital HD a while back and it died last fall after I moved home. Didn't do anything to it, it just up and died one day(I hate how that happens, should at least give you a warning). Anyway I waited over a month to get my drive back, and WD was nice and sent me 7200 rpm 40 gig drive(the one I RMA'd was a 30gig 5400rpm). Problem is a couple of weeks after I was using it I started to get some BSOF's every now and then. I did a scandisk and found that I had about 158k of bad bytes. The drive was only a couple of weeks old, I'd been using it for a couple of months now and it seems to be fine, but I dont want the bad sectors to become a problem. So my question is: Should I RMA the new drive?

Thanks for the help guys.

If it's already got bad sectors, yeah. If you want to format it, you could try a format with the /C switch, which is supposed to check and clear bad sectors. I don't how it clears them, or if it just makes them "invisible," but I've run that on some floppies in years past, and the bad sectors went away.

You may also wanna visit the WD homepage and download some doctor apps to take a deeper look at your hard drive. But if it's got bad sectors, I'd RMA it. Bad sectors are nothing to play with. Who knows, maybe this time you'll get a 50GB drive!

WD RMA