• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Single 27'' 1440p or dual 24'' 1200p

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Volumetrik

Hi, I am currently in the process of changing my monitor.

I currently have an average samsung syncmaster 24 inch 1080p display. It will go to a new build at my cottage, and so I need a new monitor for my sig rig.

I was looking at the Dell UltraSharp U2713HM which has a huge resolution of 2560x1440. LINK

I was also looking at a dual UltraSharp U2412M combo with dual monitor stand. These panels boast a 1920 x 1200 resolution. LINK

Im pretty torn as for which I will purchase. I game quite alot, so having a bigger main screen is an advantage. Although I am a bit scared that I will have to lower graphics levels in my games since I will be running a MASSIVE 2560 x 1440 screen. I am studying in software engineering, so the dual screens might be an efficiency advantage, although 2560 is massive real-estate.

I'd be interested in knowing your opinions.

PS: Sorry if this is riddled with mistakes, English is not my primary language :)

I would go 27" anytime over a dual setup, mainly because you always gonna be stuck with the bezel in the middle if gaming on both monitors.

As you said, 2560p is quite a piece of real estate. I think it will increase work efficiency just as much anyway.

I would go 27" anytime over a dual setup, mainly because you always gonna be stuck with the bezel in the middle if gaming on both monitors.

As you said, 2560p is quite a piece of real estate. I think it will increase work efficiency just as much anyway.

I agree in moving to the 27'' 2560x1440 screen -- of note, it is 1440p, not 2560p :)