• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Sites won't load w/ my desktop suddently?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

XZit

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
Ok maybe you guys can help on this one.
Anyhow on my deskto for some weird reason I can't access sites that I can access on my other computer.
I mean simple sites-like checking my yahoo email, and a couple other forums I go onto.

On the other comp they load up really fast.
On my desktop they typically don't load at all.
The desktops on a wired connection (not wireless) the other comps are wireless...dunno if that makes a difference.
I've tried reseting the hub and everything.
I dunno whatsup?
Maybe its something in my firefox prefs?



Thanks!
pz
 

Bryce

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Go to your Firefox options and check the proxy settings. Sometimes, as I've found out it may have changed even if you haven't done nothing in there. Just check to see if it's set to automatically obtain info from a DHCP server or something similar to that.

EDIT: get rid of yahoo mail...it's garbage...use gmail.
 

JamesXP

Epic Fail Guy
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Location
England
Bryce, maybe he likes ymail?


Try pinging the adress, then typing the IP in your web browser.
 
OP
X

XZit

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
still haven't it got to work yet.
I pinged it etc.
I removed firewalls
I checked for virus or w/e
I'm confuseled. :p


pz
 

JimmyG

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Michigan
Try connecting your desktop directly to the modem. If it still doesn't work, then you have a problem in the lan settings.
 
OP
X

XZit

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
looks like I got it to work.
For some odd reason a Trojen Horse was causing the problems I believe.

lol