• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Size of Water pump needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
I dont want to run my watercooling system inside the case due to heat building up with the use of a peltier.

My question is, How big of a water pump will I need to push the water about 2 or 3 feet to the cpu and then the same back? Will a 200gph inline be enough or can I go smaller yet.

I will be using an 86w peltier on the cpu in conjunction with the watercooling. Also I figured with the use of a pelt. It would be better to have the radiator outside the case, so it could cool the water better. The pump, Radiator, and water tank will all be inside another box a few feet away from the pc. But it will be sitting about level with where my cpu is on the board. So it will actually be traveling straight across and not up or down.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 

jordan

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
get a 350gph pump, inlines will be about 1C cooler. Chip eckert at [email protected] has tank/reservior setups with the 350gph for $80.00- he also sells chiller units too
 

Big Lar

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Your 200gph should be enuff to handle it, best way to be sure, is to hook it all up, and watch to see what kind of pressure you get on the return line, 2/3 of a hose is usually plenty. I use a 250 gph pump, in which to push from a dorm fridge, to the cpu, and back, which is about 10' of line with about a 2' lift in each direction, and my hoses are 3/8" internal, with 20f water, and get a full hose.... you shouldn't have any probs with a 200 gph.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Depends on your block and radiator. My system can take all a Nursery Pro 650 (Danner 700) can put out. Plate radiators and simple blocks have a lower pressure drop.
 
L

lightning

Guest
how about if i want to cool 2 cpu at once(vp6 board), and also want to put the heatsink outside of the case in the fulltower case.....how much gph pump i needed??
 
OP
B

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
If I were to cool 2 cpu's with one water cooling setup I guess I would get a pretty big pump. I think I would also run a small wattage peltier on a water block in between the two cpu's to take the heat out of the water from the first cpu. Just big enough wattage to bring the water back down to normal temps again. Not that one cpu gets alot colder then the next one. Or I guess you could run a dual radiator system. That shoud take care of it as well.

But then again I'm all new to this water cooling. So I dont know all that much. I'm still waiting for my pump and radiator to come.
 
K

Kryten

Guest
bdf24 (Apr 18, 2001 06:19 a.m.):
I dont want to run my watercooling system inside the case due to heat building up with the use of a peltier.

My question is, How big of a water pump will I need to push the water about 2 or 3 feet to the cpu and then the same back? Will a 200gph inline be enough or can I go smaller yet.

I will be using an 86w peltier on the cpu in conjunction with the watercooling. Also I figured with the use of a pelt. It would be better to have the radiator outside the case, so it could cool the water better. The pump, Radiator, and water tank will all be inside another box a few feet away from the pc. But it will be sitting about level with where my cpu is on the board. So it will actually be traveling straight across and not up or down.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Some people prefer to have everything in the same case and that is fine for them, but I personally don't see any problems with running the cooling system in another box, I am toying around with the idea of building an alloy box approx 400mm long (length of the case) by 180mm wide (width of case) by 100mm high and sitting it under my computer it would only raise the computer up another 4' but would give me a capacity of 7.2 litres (close to 2 US gallons).

To my way of thinking this extra capacity would make the water temp more constant which in turn would makes the system more constant.

Most of the pumps I loooked at today at the hardware shop would have no problems pumping up the water to the cooler in the case or I could put the cooler in the same box haven't decided yet...
 
OP
B

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
Well, I went ahead and ordered the 200gph inline pump from Tom Leufken's. As well as the 12" radiator. I have my own water block I took from work 3 3/8" x 2.5" x 3/4" thick, with 1/2" tunneling in a double T pattern ( TT ) and I'll make my own reservoir.

One thing though, I believe the pump is 120v. Is there a way to rig it up so it goes on and off with the computer? Or should I just stick it on a powerstrip with the pc and turn the strip off when I turn the pc off. Although for the most part it is always on.
 

dem1an

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Suwanee
there's a way to do it with a relay, but i've lost the posts since i formated my drive for my via chipset.