• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Small Issue

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KCB064

Registered
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Location
Kailua, HI
Hey All,
Looking for a simple solution to a small problem. Just built a new system with these components:
EVGA x58 SLI 3x
i7-920 Overclocked to 3.86
ATI 5770
6gb DDR3 kinston 1600mhz
850w PSU
In Antec 1200

System runs like a champ. OCed fine, Temps great, really no problems but one small one. When I shut it down overnight and start it up in the morning it won't POST; just sits there. Turn off and back on, it POSTs fine. Restart several times throughout day just fine. Just seems to happen overnight...
ANy one have any ideas?
 

DocClock aka MadClocker

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Location
Stockton Cal, USA, Earth
You should try re-seating all cards including the mem...could just be a slight open in the system...the connection doesn't work until it gets warmed up a bit?
could be a bad connection in one of your slots. Could also be the power supply.
If it is a brand new board then I would rma it just to be sure...I mean if it is acting goofy now, just wait till the warranty wears out.
A down and dirty way to see if the power supply is going is to go into the setup program and look at the "PC health status" and watch your system voltages and see if they jump wildly. Remember that the voltages will vary even with the best power supplies but you should be able to tell if it is going too far in either direction...in particular look at the 12 volt rails.
I hope this helps and didn't confuse you too much.
 
OP
K

KCB064

Registered
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Location
Kailua, HI
Ok morning time is here...reseated all cards and mem and it still does it. The POST code LCD halts at 26 which is Clock Gen Init onboard clock generator and sensor. Not quite sure why the clock would have anything to do with it.

Voltages are steady and no usbs other than keyboard mouse and printer
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Fill out this BIOS template for the X58 SLI w/ all of your current settings (just disregard the settings in the template, and replace w/ your own), and post a direct link to your RAM...

Code:
Frequency Control 
CPU Clock Ratio ( 20X )                                                                                          
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ( 180 )                                                                       
MCH Strap ( Auto ) 
CPU Uncore Frequency (Mhz) (  { 17X } )                                                 
CPU Clock Skew ( 0 ps ) 
Spread Spectrum ( Disabled ) 
PCIE Frequency (Mhz) ( 101 ) 

Memory Feature         
Memory Speed ( Standard ) 
Memory Control Setting ( Enabled ) 
Memory Frequency (  2:8 )                                                                 
Channel Interleave Setting ( 6 Way ) 
Rank Interleave Setting ( 4 Way ) 
Memory Low Gap ( Auto ) 
tCL Setting ( 8 ) 
tRCD Setting ( 8 ) 
tRP Setting ( 8 ) 
tRAS Setting ( 24 ) 
tRFC Setting ( 88 ) 
Command Rate ( 1t ) 

Voltage Control 
EVGA VDroop Control ( Without VDroop ) 
CPU VCore ( Auto )                                                                                                
CPU VTT Voltage ( +200 ) 
CPU PLL VCore ( 1.350 ) 
**IOH PLL VCore ( 1.350 )  
DIMM Voltage ( 1.65 ) 
DIMM DQ Vref ( +0mV ) 
QPI PLL VCore ( 1.400 ) 
IOH VCore ( Auto ) 
IOH/ICH I/O Voltage ( Auto ) 
**BR04 ( NF200) Voltage ( 1.40 ) (only on E-759) 
**VTT PWM Frequency ( 610 KHZ ) 
**CPU PWM Frequency ( 1333 KHZ ) 
**CPU Impedance ( Less ) 
**QPI Signal Compensation ( Less ) 
ICH VCore ( Auto ) 
*PWM Frequency ( Not Used on Classified ) 

CPU Feature 
Intel SpeedStep ( Disabled ) 
Turbo Mode Function ( Enabled ) 
CxE Function ( Disabled ) 
Execute Disable Bit ( Disabled ) 
Virtualization Technology ( Disabled ) 
Intel HT Technology ( Enabled ) 
Active Processor Cores ( All ) 
QPI Control Settings ( Enabled ) 
QPI Link Fast Mode ( Enabled ) 
QPI Frequency Selection ( 4.800 GT/s ) 
OC Recorvery ( Enabled ) 

PnP/PCI     PCI Express 
Maximum Payload Size ( 2048 )
 
OP
K

KCB064

Registered
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Location
Kailua, HI
my settings... any reccomendations?

Code:
Frequency Control 
CPU Clock Ratio ( 20X )                                                                                          
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ( 183 )                                                                       
MCH Strap ( Auto ) 
CPU Uncore Frequency (Mhz) (  { 17X } )                                                 
CPU Clock Skew ( 0 ps ) 
Spread Spectrum ( Disabled ) 
PCIE Frequency (Mhz) ( 100 ) 

Memory Feature         
Memory Speed ( Standard ) 
Memory Control Setting ( Enabled ) 
Memory Frequency (  2:8 )                                                                 
Channel Interleave Setting ( 6 Way ) 
Rank Interleave Setting ( 4 Way ) 
Memory Low Gap ( Auto ) 
tCL Setting ( 8 ) 
tRCD Setting ( 8 ) 
tRP Setting ( 8 ) 
tRAS Setting ( 24 ) 
tRFC Setting ( Auto @ 88 ) 
Command Rate ( Auto @ 1t ) 

Voltage Control 
EVGA VDroop Control ( With VDroop ) 
CPU VCore ( 1.30625v )                                                                                                
CPU VTT Voltage ( Auto ) 
CPU PLL VCore ( Auto ) 
DIMM Voltage ( 1.65 ) 
DIMM DQ Vref ( +0mV ) 
QPI PLL VCore ( 1.300 ) 
IOH VCore ( Auto ) 
IOH/ICH I/O Voltage ( Auto ) 
ICH VCore ( Auto ) 
*PWM Frequency ( 800 mhz ) 

CPU Feature 
Intel SpeedStep ( Disabled ) 
Turbo Mode Function ( Enabled ) 
CxE Function ( Disabled ) 
Execute Disable Bit ( Disabled ) 
Virtualization Technology ( Disabled ) 
Intel HT Technology ( Enabled ) 
Active Processor Cores ( All ) 
QPI Control Settings ( Enabled ) 
QPI Link Fast Mode ( Enabled ) 
QPI Frequency Selection ( Auto ) 
OC Recorvery ( Enabled ) 

PnP/PCI     PCI Express 
Maximum Payload Size ( 128 )
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Can you post a link to your RAM? Try changing Vdroop Control to Without Vdroop, and change VTT Voltage to +200mV which equates to 1.3V.
 
OP
K

KCB064

Registered
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Location
Kailua, HI
Can you post a link to your RAM? Try changing Vdroop Control to Without Vdroop, and change VTT Voltage to +200mV which equates to 1.3V.

What do u mean by a link to RAM? Sorry for the ignorance... Changing settings now...
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
That's DDR3-2000MHz RAM rated for 9-9-9, but in your first post you have DDR3-1600MHz listed. If you have DDR3-2000, why are you only running it at a 2:8 DRAM ratio / effective 1464MHz DRAM frequency?
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
If you change the DRAM ratio back to 2:10 / effective DRAM frequency of 1830MHz at a BCLK of 183MHz, then you'll need to increase the VTT voltage to around 1.4 - 1.5V or so. Then only change the first three primary timings to 9-9-9, and leave tRAS and all other sub-timings on AUTO. You'll also want to change the Uncore frequency to 21x at 2:10 = 3843MHz.