• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

so many Radeon 8500s

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Spec_Ops2087

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
NJ
Ok...as you know there are many radeon 8500s on the markets....I two that I have my eye on are Radeon 8500 and Radeo 8500LE 128 DDR-RAM. I hear that the LE is clocked lower but can O/C it to as much as the regular radeon. Is the 128mb version worth the extra $50 or no...any more info on the two video cards would be much appreciate to help me make up my mind.



Spec
 

Starfoxer

World's Biggest E-Thug
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Location
USA
right now, i'd go with a retail 8500 @ 64mb @ 150$
the extra ram i gonnga gain you no extra performance.
 

Big Nuttz

Always one step ahead of jdmcnudgent
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Location
Toledo, Ohio
I would definatly get the 128. Its only an extra $50. With twice as much ram its got to have an edge over the 64 mb model. Thats just my .02.
 

Lummoxx

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2001
Location
Troy, NY
Check tomshardware.com for a review of 64 vs 128. They used GF3's, though, so whether or not is applies...*shrug*. YMMV

To paraphrase, the extra 64 didn't do much, if anything.

Link to the article is here.
 

Iron Hawk

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Location
Groton, CT
The games currently on the market arent made to use the full power of the 128mb. but some of the new games will.

the same question was being asked when 64mb was new on the market, wasnt nessacary at the time, but then games started coming out that would make you want/need the 64.

Think about it this way: Would you buy a 32mb version of any video card if it was only $25-50 cheaper? Probably not, in a year or to you will think the same thing about 128 vs 64.
 

Cisco Kid

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Big Nuttz said:
I would definatly get the 128. Its only an extra $50. With twice as much ram its got to have an edge over the 64 mb model. Thats just my .02.

At this time the 128 ram is not fully used. There will not be a benefit that justifies the extra $50 cost besides "bragging rights"

64 DDR ram is plenty plenty

Cisco Kid;)