• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Some help for a noob please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

]-[itman

Hey everyone, well, I'm not new to overclocking, but I am new to case modding. So, I'd just like to get a good idea of the tools I'll be needing to get into this. I have seen the various guides listing different tools, but I'd like to get some feedback from people here on different models that you prefer and the different bits/blades that work best for you. I'll just be adding a window to my case for now, and might go into other areas later.

bluedude2288

I've only done one case, but i'm hooked, i don't know about a dremel, i have one tried it once, just wasn't thrilled about the sparks that shot up when cutting, i use a jigsaw, its VERY loud. You also must wear eye protection when cutting, and gloves would be nice too(when cutting with out gloves it feels like someone is poking you with a thousand pins). You need a soldering iron if you plan on wiring fans and lights. You need a drill, a lot of sand paper if you plan to paint it.
hope this helps!

pauldriver

]-[itman said:
Hey everyone, well, I'm not new to overclocking, but I am new to case modding. So, I'd just like to get a good idea of the tools I'll be needing to get into this. I have seen the various guides listing different tools, but I'd like to get some feedback from people here on different models that you prefer and the different bits/blades that work best for you. I'll just be adding a window to my case for now, and might go into other areas later.
on the low end,

Radio Shack hand nibbler $10.00 and a drill (you probably have one).
Hacksaws $5-10

in the middle,

Rotary Tool (dremel, wizard, etc.) $25-125.00 and cutting disks $20.00

in the highend,