• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Some questions regarding FX 8320 OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bobert

Hello overclockers! I registered here with hope to get some help and guidance regarding my recent trip into the overclocking territory. I'm completely new to all of this and I apologize in advance if I ask something incredibly stupid or obvious.

My rig:
--
CPU: AMD FX 8320
MOBO: AsRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
COOLER: Noctua DH-14
RAM: Patriot Viper3 1866Mhz, 8GB (2x4GB)
GPU: MSI Geforce GTX 780 3GB DDR5 Gaming OC
SSD: SSD Intel 120GB 530
HDD: Toshiba 2TB,7200rpm, 64MB HDD
PSU: XFX Pro Series CoreEdition 80 650W
CASE: Corsair Graphite Series 230T Windowed Black with Red LED
--

With some trial and error I managed to get my FX 8320 to 4.5 GHz just by increasing multiplier, and uping the voltage very slightly (1.2875V to 1,3000V). I disabled power saving settings but left everything else on auto. 4.5 GHz on 1.300V seems insane as most OC guides suggest 1.4XXV. Honestly I thougt I'd be lucky if I got it to 4.2 GHz.

I feel like I achieved 4.5 GHz way too easy and I'm wondering if I missed something crucial or if I'm doing something terribly terribly wrong.

My BIOS settings:
--
CPU Frequency Multiplier: x22.5 4500MHz (changed from default x17.5 3500MHz)
CPU Voltage: 1.3000V (changed from default 1.2875V)
NB Frequency Multiplier: x11.0 2200Mhz (default)
CPU NB Voltage: 1.1750V (deafult)
HT Bus Speed: Auto (2000MHz deafult)
HT BUS Width: 16 bit

DRAM Frequency: Auto (default DDR3-1600)

DRAM Voltage: Auto (default 1.500V)
CPU Voltage Offset: Auto (default +50mV)
NB Voltage: Auto (default 1.10V)
HT Voltage: Auto (default 1.200V)
CPU VDDA Voltage: Auto (deafult 2.56V)
PCIE VDDA Voltage: Auto (default 1.81V)