• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOMEBODY HELP ME PLEASE!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
I just finished lapping my thermoengine and was excited to see what kind of temps my cpu would be running. Instead I heard 3 beeps, my computer sounded like it booted and then shut off. I took off the thermoengine, and looked at the cpu. It looked like some artic silver spread around a little bit. So I cleaned it off with some isopropyl alcohol the best I could. There was still some artic silver on the ceramic of the cpu that would not come off. After I cleaned up the cpu with the alcohol, I installed the thermoengine again. This time I heard all kinds of beeps. So I pressed reset, and now it wouldn't boot. Did I wreck my CPU with the artic silver???? The installation of the thermoengine went really smooth. What can I do? Has this ever happened to anyone? How do I remove the artic silver from the ceramic of the cpu? Will that help? If anyone can please help me out there. Now I'm back to using my old 350 Mhz PII. Thanks ahead of time.

Joel
 
OP
T

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Thanks Maestro.....I'll try that. What did you clean it with anyways. Is isopropy alcohol okay. I read somewhere that you could use WD-40 or dishwashing soap???? Oh, I have an ASUS A7V133 motherboard. I'll try this and tell you what happens.
 

outhouse

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Auburn California
alcohol is fine I would not use wd40 as it will leave a residue on your proccesor which will not let your thermal compound do its job to the best of its ability and I would stay away from dishwashing soap as well as it needs to be rinsed with water, Ive had radio shack compound everywhere on my proccesor [once]tried to see if more was better and never had any problems with a [email protected] so hopefully the above post helps with your problem
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Myself and others post repeatedly that the Alcohols do not remove Arctic Silver very effectively from the CPU ceramic. Does anyone read posts other than their own? Acetone, Methyl Ethyl Ketone, Solder Flux Remover, in other words Real Solvents. They can be had from the local Hardware Store. In the case of Flux Remover, you can mail order if from any of the Electronics Supply Houses, like Newark and Allied, to name a couple. Heavy Duty Disk Brake cleaner works also. Don't get the "Environmentally Friendly" crap. That's a euphemism for less effective. A can of the good stuff, while costly, will last a lifetime of degreasing the CPU.

Hoot
 
OP
T

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Well I cleaned off the CPU the best I could with acetone, and then tried starting up my computer. It still won't boot??? The fans are running and I could hear my hard drive spinning, but that's about it. Not even a single beep is heard. Is my CPU dead?? Are there any other suggestions?? Not that much Artic silver got on the CPU ceramic. Man....this sucks!! Thanks for any help possible.
 

Super

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
I would take the cpu out, and see if it looks like it was fried (I saw one fried chip once. It had all this silvery stuff sort of underneath it, it was a celeron 333A, and you might look for some burn marks).

You can try doing that if you have nothing else to do... and just a stupid question, are you sure no AS2 got onto your MB?

hope this helps in some way!
 
OP
T

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Yeah...I'm sure no AS II got on my motherboard. Thanks
 

ken257

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Have you tried reseating things like memory and the video card? Also if the power connector going from the PSU to the mobo is not pluged in all the way it can cause this kind of behavior. It may only be in 3/4 of the way and as such is easily overlooked. Just take a close look for some simple stuff that you might have overlooked.

Can you test the cpu in another system?
 

outhouse

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Auburn California
ive has enough radio shack compound on my ceramic to use on 20 proccesors and ive had no problems and I never used alcohol to clean it off just toilet paper so I think it must be something else Are you positive that you did not get any static electricity around your proccesor ie you were not wearing socks on carpet messing with it were you, i'm not saying you were being dumb just trying to cover bases did you wear a ground strap or make sure you touched the case before messing with it, trying your proccesor in another PC might be a good idea as Ken said
 

outhouse

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Auburn California
I'm doing a post rite now in the proccesor forum asking if you can hurt a good MB by using a bad proccesor just in case yours is bad I would hate to see you fry a MB and i'm curious myself though.

maybe you could look at the MB and chip with a magnifing glass and see if anything is not perfect anymore something has happened [MB bios or chip] I know i'm reaching here but youve got me stumped.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Use a 10 or 20 power loop to look at the chip. If you fried your chip, there will be a brown residue somewhere around the die.

If you want to get all of the Artic Silver off the ceramic plate, take a tooth brush and some dishwashing liquid to it. Just be sure all of the rinse water is dry before you put it back in your board.
 
OP
T

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
So do you guys think I fried my cpu?? Damn....there goes the $160 I was saving for sound blaster live platinum 5.1. Do you guys think AMD will let me RMA it if it's a fried cpu? If I do have to get a new cpu should I buy another 1.2 t-bird axia 266fsb, or should I get a 1.33 t-bird axia 266fsb, should I wait til the new athlon comes out and get that, or should I wait til the prices drop when the new cpu comes out? Does anyone have an idea what I did wrong? Thanks guys.

Joel
 

Kain

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2001
Hello I also have a a7v133 i would say first turn off your system take out memory and then take out your batterey for your cmos.. Take it out for a few minutes.. I know this sounds wierd but i went through this also.. After about five minutes i put the battery for the cmos back in turned the power on and got three beeps.. That is ok that means the ram is out thats ok becuase it resest your system.. Then shut off and put the ram back in.. I know a pain but its worked for me.. These boards are ok but Asus really has made me mad with them.. The tech support and Bios SUCK!!!!! I hope that helps you!!
 
OP
T

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Thanks for all your help guys.....I think I fried the cpu though. There is a tiny bit of small brown residue around the die. Does anyone have any idea how this happened? Did I not put enough artic silver II? This sucks. Does anyone know if they'll RMA it? Should I get another 1.2 Ghz t-bird 266 fsb, a 1.33 ghz 266 Fsb, or just wait a couple of weeks til the prices come down when the new amd comes out and get that? Thanks for everyone's help.

Joel
 

Super

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Location
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Kain (May 14, 2001 08:21 a.m.):
Hello I also have a a7v133 i would say first turn off your system take out memory and then take out your batterey for your cmos.. Take it out for a few minutes.. I know this sounds wierd but i went through this also.. After about five minutes i put the battery for the cmos back in turned the power on and got three beeps.. That is ok that means the ram is out thats ok becuase it resest your system.. Then shut off and put the ram back in.. I know a pain but its worked for me.. These boards are ok but Asus really has made me mad with them.. The tech support and Bios SUCK!!!!! I hope that helps you!!

I agree about the battery, and I might be wrong, but I also heard that you can just simply short it. Put a paper clip between the battery and the top piece of metal thing, and wait a bit. (and just a little note, disconnect the power supply cable from the outlet before doing anything)
 

Wunder

Registered
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Location
ac.se
make sure you try the processor in another mobo before you throw it in the trash...

Once i had a F***ed-up PSU, it burned 3 floppydrives, 1 harddrive and 1 mobo before me knew what was wrong...
 

vandersl

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
Just to reaffirm - follow the steps above to make sure that everything is seated properly.

Other steps, if possible:
- try another CPU if you can get one
- try your CPU in another MB

Also, if you modified any bridges with pencil, make sure you didnt rub/wash one or more off during the process.
 

Slain

Member
Joined
May 15, 2001
Location
Woking (near London) U.K.
Well if you have burnt your chip, look on the bright side you are now an official member of the unofficial overclockers club ;D Entry to this prestigeous organization is through the manufacture of browned silicon.

Slain Ex-owner of:-

P166 succumbed to condensation at 266 R.I.P.
PII 233 L2 cache burnt at 350Mhz R.I.P.
PIII 700E victim of a failed peltier at 1050 R.I.P

Still owner of a T-bird1GHz AXIA but for how long? *touches wood* :)
 
OP
T

typer

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
I have some good news.....I called AMD today and told them what had happened and they're going to let me RMA my 1.2 Ghz 266 FSB AXIA!!! Hopefully I get another AXIA? If not, it's still better than nothing. I still don't know what happened? I guess I did not put the thermoengine on properly?