• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

!!!!!! Someone PLEASE !!!!!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
jeff_harrison_344 (Mar 14, 2001 12:13 p.m.):
Okay, if I got the Asus A7Pro, (For a 900 T Bird) would it be 200x4.5, or 100x9?
Hi Jeff. I believe this would be 9x100. The A7Pro is the 100 FSB board with the KT133 chipset rather than the KT133A which handles 133 FSB. Correct me if I am wrong guys.
 

awol

Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
seabhac (Mar 14, 2001 12:43 p.m.):
jeff_harrison_344 (Mar 14, 2001 12:13 p.m.):
Okay, if I got the Asus A7Pro, (For a 900 T Bird) would it be 200x4.5, or 100x9?
Hi Jeff. I believe this would be 9x100. The A7Pro is the 100 FSB board with the KT133 chipset rather than the KT133A which handles 133 FSB. Correct me if I am wrong guys.

i'm no genius, but i'll agree with 100x9....lol
 

ExtremeOC

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
no, it's 100... it runs the processor on the EV6 bus....
you see, DDR has 2x paths for memory to travel, thus being named DOUBLE DATA RATE, compared to SDR, which is SINGLE DATA RATE....
PC100 SDR runs on 100mhz 1 path..
PC1600 DDR ram runs on 100 2 paths.
so, as everyone knows, 2x100 is 200.
but the EV6 bus allows you to run the chip at DDR speeds. So x2 the rate is allowed, copamred to the normal athlon classic data paths. SOOOOO to make all this short, the processor runs on 100, the system steps it up to 200 for the 2x path for data to travel, and what u use for RAM, DDR is a direct path, but SDR gets coverted back down. Technology rules. So all processors run on 100 or 133, then u use the DDR x2 for the system speed. if the chips ran at 200FSB be4 DDR, thats 400 after DDR..... if ne1 could do that, they'd soil themselfs. cause 266x2 is 533... that'd rule too... peace guys. thats about all i know about this stuff.... (i finally got to say EV6!.....)
 

DaveB

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
The actual FSB is 100 MHz, not 200 MHz. The 200 MHz value is the effective DDR rate that the chipset runs at using both edges of the 100 MHz FSB clock. You set the FSB at 100 MHz and the multilplier at 9 to run at the default 900 MHz clock speed.