• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Sound card compatability with MSI m/b

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Starfire_MK2

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Burnaby, B.C., Canada
Hello all, I've got an MSI K7T motherboard that uses the Via KT133A chipset. I don't like the onboard sound, and am thinking of getting a SB Live.
I've heard of some people claiming to have problems with this combination, something to do with the chipset. Can anyone confirm or deny this? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
 

jeff_harrison_344

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
I wouldnt mind hearing this either, cuz I am gonna be getting an MSI K7T TURBO and a SOundblaster like maybe. Anyone?
 

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Starfire_MK2 (May 06, 2001 07:57 p.m.):
Hello all, I've got an MSI K7T motherboard that uses the Via KT133A chipset. I don't like the onboard sound, and am thinking of getting a SB Live.
I've heard of some people claiming to have problems with this combination, something to do with the chipset. Can anyone confirm or deny this? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!


There is a problem with the "current" chipset and the card compatibility. I just purchased a KT7A-Raid board and a SB Live Value. I was up for hours trying to get it to work. Everytime I installed the drivers (the ones from the website, not the CD) it would crash and I would have to repair the Windows registry "scanreg /fix". Thank god Abit is proactive.....Via is obviously not. They released a beta bios on 4/14/01 named "sblive fix"...go figure. I installed it and all is well. Except for the fact that it has a bug in it that shows the wrong vcore settings (reads 1.60v which is really 1.50v).
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
How is the sound quality of the card with the VIA chipset after the fix? I hear that they didn't really solve the crackling problem, just the large file transfer data corruption deal.
Ive been agonizing over the sound card choice now for a month. Im currently using VIA onboard sound, and it does not like ROGER WILCO one bit. Im thinking of using either the SANTA CRUZ or the SB live value Oem. Since the Santa Cruz is almost double the price its a hard decision, but im willing to pay upfront to not have headaches in the future.

Another choice that comes to mind is the philips AE.
AKDUDE
 
OP
Starfire_MK2

Starfire_MK2

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Burnaby, B.C., Canada
Cory (May 08, 2001 05:34 p.m.):
Just get a Santa Cruz, you WON'T be disappointed!!! I am in audiophile love with it. Now all I need is a set of Klipsch Promedia 4.1's!!! Ohhh!!! Peace. :)

What manufacturer makes the Santa Cruz?
Does it support 3D sound EAX and output to four speakers?
 

DIG

Registered
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
AKDUDE (May 08, 2001 03:39 p.m.):
How is the sound quality of the card with the VIA chipset after the fix? I hear that they didn't really solve the crackling problem, just the large file transfer data corruption deal.
Ive been agonizing over the sound card choice now for a month. Im currently using VIA onboard sound, and it does not like ROGER WILCO one bit. Im thinking of using either the SANTA CRUZ or the SB live value Oem. Since the Santa Cruz is almost double the price its a hard decision, but im willing to pay upfront to not have headaches in the future.

It is perfect after the fix. I have it running through a surround sound receiver, Polk RT55 fronts, CS175 center and RM2300 rear satellites and a Mirage sub. Quake 3 and Counter Strike sound great..........even minimizing a window sounds great. For the price, I think it is the best out there.
 

Cory-Athlon Man

Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Location
Adrian, MI, USA
Starfire_MK2 (May 08, 2001 08:51 p.m.):
Cory (May 08, 2001 05:34 p.m.):
Just get a Santa Cruz, you WON'T be disappointed!!! I am in audiophile love with it. Now all I need is a set of Klipsch Promedia 4.1's!!! Ohhh!!! Peace. :)

What manufacturer makes the Santa Cruz?
Does it support 3D sound EAX and output to four speakers?
Turtle Beach Home Page
Yes it supports EAX and it supports up to 6 speakers, Dolby 5.1. It will run four fine. I use mine now with 2 sattellites and a sub. Peace.