• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Sqlite vs. MySQL

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

McGrace

Hey guys,

I am an old enterprise developer used to doing massive databases. Oracle, DB2, stuff like that. I have my own website running off of MySQL and GWT as a framework. I am finding out that GWT, for lack of other words, sucks. It's ten hours of work to do something simple, particularly with data and RESTful web services. I am investigating swapping over to Ruby on Rails, and noticed that a lot of very large websites use that technology. I am needing to develop new websites that do not match our current site, that that's a LOT of overhead with GWT. Apparently, as I am learning first hand by walking though tutorials, Ruby on Rails is about the exact opposite. You do ten minutes of work and get what looks like a highly complicated and fancy/professional result.

I can keep the RESTful server side with Java, and that doesn't really have much of an effect on my time. What kills me is the presentation layer. It. Just. Takes. Forever. With GWT. And I need to swap things around and not take forever. I need to complete Android and iOS apps to link into the data as well, simple apps. Already did an iOS and basic Android app, so need to keep things RESTful.

That said, obviously sqlite is used on the device side for any client side data needs.