• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Squealing Card?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ollie`

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Gigabyte 9550 128

Was checking out ATI Tool for the first time .. and .. whenever the window with the floating furry box type thing is open something in my case starts to squeal!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Close the 3D box and noise goes away. Its pretty hard to tell if its the graphics card or the motherboard capacitors. The stock HSF is to bloody loud to let me hear exactly where the noise is coming from .. BUT .. it ONLY does it (so far) when that one box is open. I only have C&C Generals here to test so i installed it and played the first level (not very graphically intensive). It didn't make this noise while playing the game on high. *shrug*

.... any ideas? Let me guess .. this is normal and your comp does it to?!? *hopes* LOL

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Edit: heres my specs if it helps

AMD Sempron 64BIT 2800+ Processor S754 Palermo 1.6GHZ 256K
GIGABYTE K8NS NFORCE3 250 ATHLON64 S754
OCZ Platinum EL PC3200 1GB DDR400 CL2-3-2-5
GIGABYTE GV-R955128D Radeon 9550 128MB 128BIT
2x MAXTOR DiamondMax 10 200GB IDE ATA133 7200RPM 16MB
Fortron FSP/SPI SAGA AX450-PN 450W

and my OC = Linky

Card is at stock speeds

Edit2: I UN-overclocked and tryed it ... it dosnt squeal *sigh*
 
Last edited:

Careface

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Location
Auckland, New Zealand
well my first impression was that it could have been CPU coil-whine (2 of my pcs have suffered from it in the past few months) and it only happens during certain apps load (running MBM5 is one of them, where it makes aweful high pitched noises).. but since your CPU is relatively new compared to my AXP2000+/2500+ which had coil whine, im not sure what the problem could be.

Do you have another CPU you could try out and oc? that would eliminate the possibility that its your CPU making the noise. good luck :)

Careface*
 
OP
O

Ollie`

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
No other CPU that would fit that socket .. Im pretty sure its the capacitors by they CPU. I was just going to add Mosfet sinks to ... beter not in case i have to RMA the board. Altho every post i have read on people that have squealing capacitors it seems they get a brand new board at it does the same thing (since its the same parts) lol ... *sigh* .. I did read that the GA-K8NS had made this noise in the past before i ordered it .. but all those posts where like a year old and i asumed they would have fixed this by now .. guess not! lol .. Ill just have to hope that it only happens in ATI Tool and/or other random apps cause its dam anoying sounding and im trying to build a quiet comp. Already hung the HDDs and 5v modded the 2 120mm fans

Edit: Brought it back up a lil bit to 2GHz and no stupid noise. Nforce 3 drivers are fugged up now tho !!! lol
 
Last edited:
OP
O

Ollie`

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Up to 2320MHz @ stock volts now and its still not doing it. Maybe it only happens when the volts are higher. :shrug:
 

Careface

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Location
Auckland, New Zealand
hmm it could be, although now that youve said that im leaning towards the PSU being the culprit.. ive had a couple of really old PSU (like, really old. AT style lol) make rather weird high pitched noises for a few seconds every now and then.. perhaps yours could be making it because its not able to give enough power? i dunno sorry, i cant really help you :(.. bets leave it to someone more knowledgeable than I :)

Careface*
 
OP
O

Ollie`

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
I'm pretty confident in this PSU [Fortron FSP/SPI SAGA AX450-PN 450W]. Could be a bad apple but it has supplied great power so far (only a week old). I think i did actually put my ear right up to the back of the PSU while this noise was going on. .. iduno ... hehe .. :shrug:
 

Captain Newbie

Senior Django-loving Member
I don't normally venture into the ATI forum, being an nVidia person (mostly), but this thread captured my interest.

Odd hums and whines can and do happen under load. I get odd hums at times under full load, especially when power supplies are on their last legs or defective. (My ThermalTake did it before it let out the magic smoke for about a month, as well as secondary indications of impending doom such as fluctuating/unstable voltages, random STOPs, etc.)
 
OP
O

Ollie`

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Playing around abit ... it seems this only happens when that window is open in ATI Tool and when my FSB is over 280.

Gonna see what happens with 3dmark
 
OP
O

Ollie`

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Yea.... its not the PSU making the noise. Had my ear so close to it i knocked the the plug and the comp shut down :clap: . I'll have to wait till i get my quieter cooler to see if its the Mosfet/Capacitors or the card. I'm doubting its the card now tho.

I really just want to know if this is normal(ish). Brand new comp. ATI Tool with that window open loads the CPU pretty hard. But this noise doesn't happen in Prime95 or encoding with CCE. Maybe ill run 2 and see lol.
:sn:
 

deathman20

High Speed Premium Senior
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Hmmm try rithdribl and see if that causes it. Its another 3D testing program and it does a good job stressing the CPU and graphics card.