• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stable OC but can't figure adaptive mode 5820k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

babyyak3002

System:

Asus x99-a
5820k i7
Kingston hyperX ddr4 3000mhz 16gb
Sandisk plus ssd

Custom water cooling loop.

I'm a bit beginner in OC'ing. But I have and understand how to from forums and from past builds. Upgrading from a 980x system.

I have a stable oc of 4.4ghz @ 1.2125v vcore

All other settings left on auto except for these

100 bclk

Mult. 44
Cache min 24 (won't let me change)
Max 40 (not sure what to put this at but stable here)

Ram at 2666mhz

I've researched a ton, and ran at 100 bclk ram 2666 MHz instead of 125 3000 mhz because highest oc I could get was 4.0 on 125, read this is common with this chip. I've got my above 4.4 o'clock stable on aida64 and rendering 10min h264 in premiere cs6 Max temps were 60c under 100% load on aida64.

My problem is that I want to run my system so it's voltage drops during idle and from my weeks of researching everything on this I've read with my x99-a it's done with adaptive mode. I've read tons of contradicting things on this and can't figure it out. I can't get my system to post with this mode enabled.

I've tried what some say to just enter your vcore, in my case 1.2125v in the turbo vcore section and it won't even post. Nothing else touched. Not sure what to do?

Was thinking of trying full auto and a less aggressive clock and monitor voltage and just run that but I'd like to figure this out if I could.

You have a couple of options...

1. Set your power plan in Windows to balanced.