• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

start/stop count speccy says is bad

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sorabishop

Registered
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
should i be worried that the value is 310,224 & the thresh hold is 20 but it is at 1? this is what my OS is on. Seagate ST9160823AS
overclockre.PNG
 

wagex

Chapstick Eating Premium Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
id try some other software the reallocation event count seems a bit off itself
 

wagex

Chapstick Eating Premium Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
i like hddguardian, i think some other people use crystal disk info
 
OP
S

sorabishop

Registered
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Thanks I'll try it out. If start stop count is still high is it recommend to put os on different drive?
 

wagex

Chapstick Eating Premium Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
yeah, idk something still seems up that's a ton of start stop counts doesnt seem right, maybe bad power or sata cable, idk.
 
OP
S

sorabishop

Registered
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
hddguardian still says the same thing.
the cable i have it pluged into has only 1 other drive on it and its working fine. and i replaced the sata cable.
wonder how much time i got with this drive.
must be an old hard drive.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
hddguardian still says the same thing.
the cable i have it pluged into has only 1 other drive on it and its working fine. and i replaced the sata cable.
wonder how much time i got with this drive.
must be an old hard drive.

No one can say. It's Russian roulette.
 

Alaric

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Location
Satan's Colon, US
I've seen high reallocation numbers on a few Seagate drives over the years. Of course, I've had every Seagate drive I've owned fail. All of them. I have a box od WD IDE HDDs that still work fine, but more recent SATA Seagate HDDs in that box are all junk. Not trying trying to flame Seagate, just my experience. Others have the opposite happen so YMMV.
 
OP
S

sorabishop

Registered
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
I cloned the os drive to another drive. To find out this drive has a current the same
As the worst in reallocated. Also it's a 5400rpm I don't remember what kind it was it's western digital. Oh man is it slow at loading things. But it'll have to do when my main drive goes. Until I can buy a new one.