• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stock D5 pump compression fittings / angled barb fittings?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

d3n1s_47

Registered
Hey guys

I'm new to the forum and to water cooling (although i've been building custom PCs for 10 years now) and i am in the process of planning how i will arrange my build. I have a caselabs M8 case with the pedestal underneath, Alphacool 420mm monsta rad, stock D5 pump with standard fittings (not threaded), EK supremacy waterblock and bitspower tube rad. I want to mount my pump and rad in the pedestal and i'm having a hard time figuring out how to plumb everything with no threaded fittings on the pump. I want to velcro mount the rad and pump to the bottom of the pedestal and for that the pump needs to be right side up. I cannot possibly see how i will be able to fit tubing on the pump inlet (which would be pointing to the side) when the water from the res will be coming from the top. Similarly, i want the outlet (facing up) connected directly to the rad that will be basically right next to the pump. I cannot see how i can possibly achieve this with the type of inlet/outlet that is on the pump, hooking up the tubing directly to them would likely result in an impossible bend. I will be using compression fittings (1/2 ID 3/4 OD) all across my build (already figured out where i need 90 degree fittings and where i can use straight ones) and i kinda regret buying the stock D5 pump knowing all too well there are pre-modded ones out there with G1/4 threaded fittings. So basically my questions are :

1. Is there such thing as a non compression angled fitting? Something that would allow a 90 degree angle to enter and exit my stock D5.