• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Strange Athlon MoBo Problems!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AstronMike

Registered
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Hello all,

I have two Slt A mobos, a Gigabyte Ga7ixe and an MSI-6167. The Gigabyte came new from TigerDirect two months ago and just got around to using it. The MSI came from a local computer show Saturday.

Both have the same problem: They fire up but only show the cpu....nothing else, not even finishing POST. Cant be bad other components as they are all in my K7v running [email protected]

Are both boards bad right outta the box? Whats going on here?

Thanks in advance
 

Vector

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2000
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
are you trying to run the two new boards at the same overclocked speed as your k7v?

sometimes one board will overclock the hell out of a processor and another won't even post at the same speed
 
OP
AstronMike

AstronMike

Registered
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
No, Im not OCing anything on those two mobos. I used the chip stock at 750 and it shows as that. I used a second 750 and it shows too. I did set the multiplyers on the gfd to differed numbers and they showed up too.

Same thing in all cases: The board appears to power up and the video comes on...sees cpu...stops there. Nothing else, and hitting DEL to get into setup doesnt work. Have never seen this type of situation before.
 

Rob Cork

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Woodcote, UK
Damn weird problem - the only advice I can offer is to take everything out apart from the cpu, memory and vid card, then add everything one at a time, and see when it stops working (I know everything works fine in the other computer, but I have a floppy drive that only works in one of 3 computers - wtf). If you can get into the bios on either board, just check to see whether there's any RAM or vid card settings that might help - though it does sound as though both boards could be bad. Hope you get it fixed!
 
OP
AstronMike

AstronMike

Registered
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Rob Cork (Jan 03, 2001 06:30 p.m.):
Damn weird problem - the only advice I can offer is to take everything out apart from the cpu, memory and vid card, then add everything one at a time, and see when it stops working (I know everything works fine in the other computer, but I have a floppy drive that only works in one of 3 computers - wtf). If you can get into the bios on either board, just check to see whether there's any RAM or vid card settings that might help - though it does sound as though both boards could be bad. Hope you get it fixed!

That sounds good Rob. I will try that tomorrow. I never tried doing a Barebone Test as you call it...nothing but mobo, vidcard, ram, cpu. Even with no drives it should still post far enough to NOT see them, right?

Now, what if I do as you describe and nothing changes?? Also eliminated shorts as I only used 4 standoffs one time to ensure its on right.

Thanks for your reply....I hate bad stuff right off the stick.
 

Rob Cork

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Woodcote, UK
That's right, it should get to the stage of detecting the floppy drive (if you don't plug that in), then hang complaining that it can't find one. I wouldn't be too optimistic as all the other components are known to work, but there could be some weird conflicts or something that occurs in most boards but your k7v (slim chance, but it's possible i guess). If nothing happens, and you've eliminated the possibility of bad cpu/ram/vid card (which you have), and of shorts (which you have), then it would have to be the mobos. Unlucky in that case, see if you can get refunds/replacements. For what it's worth, I'm sure we all sympathise ;-)