• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Strange CoolBits...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hippo101

Registered
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
I just got a new XFX GeForce FX 5600
I enabled CoolBits in the registry
The clock/memory speeds reported by CoolBits are 234MHz/334Mhz

This doesnt make any sense... I checked and the default speeds of a FX 5600 are 325MHz/550MHz

And if I try to put it on 325/550, it hangs...
Best I can get is 325/450 appx.

CoolBits does work though. When i overclock from 234/334 to 325/450 I get better performances. If I click the Auto-Detect button it gives me speeds of 0Mhz/0MHz

Is there something wrong with my card or with CoolBits ?
I tried different games with this card and everyting seems fine and i get decent performances.

Btw I have the 128MB version of this card.
 
Last edited:

Yuriman

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Location
The OCFORUMS
"The card has AGP x8/x4/x2 interface, 128 MB DDR SDRAM memory in 4 chips on both PCB sides.

Hynix 4ns memory chips (corresponds to 250 (500) MHz), memory clocked at 200 (400) MHz, GPU at 235 MHz. 64 bit memory bus."

Taken from a website I googled. Basicly, the normal 5600xt's are clocked at 235/400. They have 64bit ram, meaning it is only half as fast per clock as a normal 5600. Wherever you got your card, they loaded even slower ram onto it. Talk about a seriously castrated card.

If you play any games at all I suggest you throw that card in the trash and buy a 9600. It will play football with that card.
 
OP
H

Hippo101

Registered
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Damn...
Never thought for a second that a XT was so slower than the original
If i understand its like a 9600SE ? :/

The memory chips are from Elixir :/ i oc them to 475mhz without problems
So now my card is running 300/475 but it still ****es me off...

Could you just put these card in order... worst to best ??

FX 5200 Ultra, 5500, 5500LE, 5600, 5700, 5700LE, ATI 9600NP

Tanks a lot
 
Last edited:
OP
H

Hippo101

Registered
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
LE is another version of the same card... lower clock speeds... probably means "Light Edition"
 

DarkMatter13

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2004
Location
New York, United States
Any Nvidia chips with an LE suffix are garbage. When my 5900U took a dump on me, I bought a 5700LE for $125 just to tide me over till the 6800 series were shipped. BAD MOVE ON MY PART. 5700LE performance is on par with an SiS Xabre 400. I actually ended up popping my old GF4Ti46 back in the case. As for ratings, anything LE is bottom end. In that selection, all depending on what you use them for, I would say the only real choices are between the 5700 and the 9600NP.
 

Avg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Did you know that the memory has to be multiplied by 2 to get your speed it's like 2x275=550mhz memory speed so what you got is 2x475=950mhz
 
OP
H

Hippo101

Registered
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Yes I do know that... but it cant be 950mhz :/ its more like 2x237.5=475mhz.. no ?
 

LogRus

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Location
Seattle, WA
Avg said:
Did you know that the memory has to be multiplied by 2 to get your speed it's like 2x275=550mhz memory speed so what you got is 2x475=950mhz

Exactly (that's why it's DOUBLE Data Ram - DDR), so your cards happens to be a good overclocker :D.

About order of those cards I agree with DarkMaster13.

So it goes like this (IMO):

5500LE, 5700LE, 5500nu, 5200u, 5600nu, 9600np, 5700nu
<<<-------- worsT || Best -------->>>
 

Avg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
It could be, why don't you use other overclocking tool to see what they give you?
 

Avg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Which card do you have a fx5600 or a fx5600xt? I was looking around in newegg and the XFX Geforce FX5600XT have a 400mhz effective memory(2x200)
 
OP
H

Hippo101

Registered
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
5600XT so thats what im saying... it cant be 950mhz
XFX put memory rated at 166mhz instead of 200mhz...
At least it runs without problems at 200mhz and more...

I tried another oc utility... same thing
 
Last edited:

Avg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Yep, at least it seems to be overclocking good, since the core's stock speed is 235mhz and not 325mhz, what are your scores in 3dmark03?
 
OP
H

Hippo101

Registered
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
I scored a 10088 in 2001SE but i was in 640x480
But after the benchmark i lowred everyting to 300/450 cuz i was starting to see artifacts and some strange big blue dots..
 
Last edited: