• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Struggling with x5650 OC...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Helgaiden

So im putting together a low cost system to give as a gift like a starter PC to my fiance's little brother is very much into tech and videogames but never had a gaming PC. Gonna have him build it too, i think it'll be cool. Anyways, i had an EVGA X58 SLI LE board i came across and thats what i decided to go with for this build, and everything i've read about the x5650 was very promising. I only had 4 sticks of ram to spare for a total of 8gb (Super Talent DDR3 1600 1.65v) and its configured to run in dual channel. Spent maybe 3-4 hours last night trying to get an overclock and i couldn't get anything stable worth the life of me, though admittedly im a bit new to BCLK overclocking, especially on x58. Figured out part of my issue was clocking the ram way too high and eventually got it to boot again, but even with vcore at 1.4v, any bclk over 190 wouldn't boot even if the ram was way low at 2:6 (final mhz of 1112 on the ram at that setting). Got it to boot at 185 bclk though but prime fails after a little while, though temps are in check even with a short 10 minute blast of p95 Small FFT. CPU has a 240mm AIO on it. Trying to up the memory frequency closer to 1600mhz ends up causing boot issues of course, so im just not sure what im doing wrong or how to proceed. Or if i lost the silicon lottery big time. Also running into an issue where if the memory is too low, it only recognizes as single channel and windows tells me it has 8gb but only 3.99gb usable (the appears to be hardware reserved). Getting it to boot one setting higher does bring dual channel back, but still says 8gb total but only 3.99gb usable. Its win10 64bit still.