• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stumped: Spyware problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gecedion

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Location
U.S., Maryland
I'm trying to rid someone's computer of a spyware problem, but I can't figure out what is doing this.

When I open IE, 3-4 pop up windows appear, one of them being a grey window which takes up the whole screen, saying I should download their anti-spyware software.
Now, I can't stop these pop-ups, I've run both Ad-Aware and Spybot (both updated). Kazaa is installed on the computer, but I've never had it give me problems after spyware checks have been run. The only other program that seems suspicious to me is this panda AV program.
Does anyone have any experience with this particular piece of spyware?

I'd do a search, but I have no idea what to look for.
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
Have you tried a right-click to determine the pop-up's properties? Might give you an idea where its from.
 

DayUSeX

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
try unistalling Kazaa and run spybot then install kazaa lite which wil stop the popups that come iwht kazaa
 

t_biggs

Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2003
Location
Appleton, Wisconsin
Kazaa Lite is dead. Kazaa finally killed it because of copyright infringement...

I've heard there are a few open source clients at sourceforge that connect to Kazaa's network. I havn't used any, nor remember their names. But, get rid of Kazaa. It causes nothing but problems.

After you run Spybot and Adaware then, get SpywareBlaster. (http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html) It works great, and almost makes Spybot and Adaware useless. (I said almost. :) You'll still want them, not many things slip by Spybot, but a few do.)
 
OP
G

Gecedion

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Location
U.S., Maryland
Microsoft messenger isn't the problem. The window which pops up is IE, just as though you told it to be full screen. Yes, unfortunately k-lite is no more, but I don't want to install anything too advanced/obscure.
 

invisible hand

Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Location
Vancouver B.C.
t_biggs said:
Kazaa Lite is dead. Kazaa finally killed it because of copyright infringement...

I've heard there are a few open source clients at sourceforge that connect to Kazaa's network. I havn't used any, nor remember their names. But, get rid of Kazaa. It causes nothing but problems.

After you run Spybot and Adaware then, get SpywareBlaster. (http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html) It works great, and almost makes Spybot and Adaware useless. (I said almost. :) You'll still want them, not many things slip by Spybot, but a few do.)

I installed Kazaa lite about 6 months ago.....what does this mean for me? Are you saying that its no longer available for DL or what? I'm confused.
 

Burning Phoenix

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2001
Location
Schenectady NY
I don't understand also the comment that Kazza Lite is dead. I use it often and am currently downloading at this minute.

I 2nd this:
Deathknight said:
EDIT: Forgot to ask, have you made sure its not your homepage that is causing these popups?
 
OP
G

Gecedion

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Location
U.S., Maryland
I'm very sure it's not windows messenger because I've dealt with problems with it before. I don't think it's the homepage, since netscape.com doesn't often advertise porn. I'll try all these things as soon as I can, thanks for the help.

K-lite was shut down shortly after being removed from search engines as well.
 

RedDeathDrinker

Senior Aircraftsman IRL
Joined
Jul 16, 2001
Location
Scotland - And don't you forget it!
There are several flavours of KAzaa lite floating about, Kazaa Lite++ being one of them. Sources are not hard to find.........

As to the spyware bit, try another browser for starters. That will define either a spyware problem on the system, or a bug within IE itself.

www.mozilla.org is of course the place to start, Firebird 0.7 is what you're looking for.

try another browser, then let us know..........
 

DaWiper

Image Compare Man
Joined
Nov 15, 2003
Location
Norway
First: I installed 'Kazaa lite' for my father... Just two weeks ago... Works fine.
Second: Had to help a friend with install of Kazaa over the phone. I installed it while he did it to help me guide him. Before I installed Kazaa I had zero spyware according to Adaware. After we were finished I unstalled Kazaa and ran Adaware once more... 52 spyware relateded things in reg according to Adaware(6.0)... Say no more...
 

Burning Phoenix

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2001
Location
Schenectady NY
stool said:
For Kazaa Lite++, do a search for klitekpp242e.exe. Works like a charm.

Or this one:
klitekpp243e.exe
:)

Some versions have spyware but you have to pay attention to which ones work that dont have it. The one above i use was the latest and it doesnt have any.
 

Burning Phoenix

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2001
Location
Schenectady NY
My usual steps in removing spyware after Adaware:

Check under the start/program and see whats in the startup folder and look for any weird programs that were installed that don't look familiar. If something looks unfamiliar then first try uninstalling it. Then if there is not an uninstall feature right click the shortcut and see where it resides on the HD. Delete the folder and the shortcut.
Next run regedit and search for keywords such as Cydoor, GAIN, Gator and maybe the unfamiliar stuff you found in the start/programs menu. Delete each entry to them but pay close attention what you are deleting because when you search fro such things as gator it will also stop at naviGATOR. You don't want to delete that.
maybe that'll help a little
 

cornbread

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Location
The great USA!
Gecedion said:
I'm very sure it's not windows messenger because I've dealt with problems with it before.


Just want to make sure we are talking about the same messenger service. Are you talking about messenger that is located in "administrative tools" in the "service's" profile?

What os are you using?
 

DayUSeX

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
messenger service has NOTHING to do with his problem, as his problem comes from IE, drop it, it is a dead end. As for kazaa its "shut down" but i wouldnt be suprised if new versions keep poping up, and like others said it is still easily found. But beyond piracy. Try going through all the folders, and if you cant find what it is. make a backup and delte it , reboot, see if it stops the problem. Worth a shot if you have the time. Then if you know what you are doing try the registry, thats what i do for pesky spyware.
and like i said IT AINT MESSANGER SERVICE STOP TALKING ABOUT IT!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.