• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stupid Question?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

peppy

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2000
Ok I have a GeForce 256 DDR 32MB @ 150 clock and 333 mem now my question is how much worse performance would I see going to a GeForce2 MX400 DDR 32MB. Now you may ask why I would want to downgrade performance. Well its complicated. I am upgrading a computer for my cousin. and he needs a video card. and I have an an GeForce 256, but it doesnt have tv out. and i really want tv out. like bad. so I want to just trade him videocards. I dont do that much gaming. So as long as it can still play quake 3 at 30 fps or above and maybe Tony Hawk Pro Skater lol.

I am thinking that I would see about the same performance with my geforce 256 ddr 32mb if I could convice him to buy a ATI RADEON 7500 LE 64MB w/tv out, am I right on that one?

The problem is the money here(I have none, zip, zilch, nada). Thats why I am trading this stuff with him.


Now the cool as hell thing about this deal is I give him a Iwill kk266 with a duron 650(that will be oc :D) and 256mb of pc 133 and a 300watt psu. (all of those things i dont and cant use) and he buys me a brand new amd athlon xp 1600+ agoia core processor.
 

Namagomi

Disabled
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Location
Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
HotKoala said:
That GF2MX400 will perform a lot worst than your current GF2. Especially anything at 1024 and above.

As for TV out, I can't say anything good about any of NV's TV-outs.

Current geforce 256, you mean.

But yeah, geforce2mx pales in compairson to the geforce 256 DDR. I reccomend you stick with that. TV-out really isn't that big of a deal anyways.
 

cullam3n

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Location
San Antonio, TX
Yeah a Geforce 2 MX is nowhere near the performance of a Geforce DDR, more closer to that of a Geforce SDR. Also, TV-out isn't that good, especially with a Geforce. My dad has a Hercules Geforce SDR, and out of the times we did get it working, the image quality wasn't worth the trouble. On my Geforce 4, I still to this day haven't gotten the TV-out to work. Apparently, it needs a certain amount of resistance for it to function.

Bottom line: TV-out is not worth it. Stick it out with the Geforce DDR. It's not easy, but it's doable: I had to stick it out with 256 SDRAM, an 800 Duron (with no o/c), and a PCI 32mb MX200.

-PC
 

ShadowFolder

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
HotKoala said:
That GF2MX400 will perform a lot worst than your current GF256. Especially anything at 1024 and above.

As for TV out, I can't say anything good about any of NV's TV-outs.

that's relative...


if u wanna hi-performance ddr vga, 256 r not bad 4 u,

but gf2 mx400 has almost same performance in games,
and little much graphic quality...



i'm usin' gf2mx 400, and my upgrade advice 2 u:
get a new ati board (9000 or 9000pro)
 
OP
peppy

peppy

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2000
thanks, i was gonna use the tv out for just video, and anyways, i got my mom to just buy me the amd xp 1600 agoia so i get to keep my crap and video card. thanks all
 

ShadowFolder

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Henry Rollins II said:


Whats wrong with nvidias tv output? I think the TV output works better with my mx420 than it did with the 8500 I had b4.

nvidia r not best on tv out,
(but u can solve the problem with tvtool like 3rd party apps)

asus with nvidia chips r really crappy on tv :(
(chrontel chip makes it bad)
 
Last edited: