• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Swiftech 462A and my high temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
I just got the Swiftech 462A in the mail yesterday and decided to put it on today and replace the Vantec i was using.

With the Vantec I was o/c'd [email protected] at 1.8V and my temps were around 43C idle and 49 load.
After I put in the Swiftech my system wouldn't even get into windows so I knew something was wrong. I dropped everything back to default and was able to boot into windows but the temps were high so I figured I would check to see if I used too much AS2 or maybe the hsf wasn't seated properly. Everything seemed fine and I double checked everything I tell you though, this fan seemed quieter than the delta fan on the vantec.
As I'm typing this, I've got 46C just reading posts.

I've got sufficient air cooling in my system with a 120mm and 80mm intake, 92mm out.

I hope I didn't waste my $$.

Any suggestions?

Amiel
 

fluxcapacitor

Registered
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
I know your woes. I just got mine two days ago. First thing, are you using the shoulder washers under the stand offs? Don't. But be VERY careful. My a7v is not grounded around those holes, so I just made sure that the metal standoffs are not touching any traces running near the holes. That's the most important thing if you don't use the grounding washers. But if your board is already grounded it will have a small 'metal ring' around the mounting holes. The problem w/ using those washers is that they raise the standoffs so that when the HS is mounted it does not contact the core properly. Also, try make sure the best you can that the mounting screws are even. Only turn them until they lock. Don't go more than that. When they are locked, there should be a tiny amount of space between the HS and the standoffs. I have an Antec mid-tower case w/out a mobo tray, so re-doing this until I got it right was beyond a *****. I had the same problem w/ OCing too. When it's not mounted correctly, my guess is that it lets the proc heat up so fast that OC becomes not possible. Anyhow, that's about the best advice I can give...
 
OP
FunkyTechnician

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
The KK266 is grounded so I didn't bother using those nylon washers per Swiftech specs. I double checked everything again and was getting the same readings as before. Just too hot. I don't know what to do next. I'm sure that it is mounted properly now but the temps are still mixing me up.

Amiel
 
OP
FunkyTechnician

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
Da Whip (Apr 13, 2001 08:27 a.m.):
Stupid question, but did you lap the heatsink? And did you use Artic Silver or thermal grease?

Well, I definitely used AS2 and not too much and not too little, but I didn't lap the hsf. I had read several reviews that the MC462A didn't need to be lapped because of it's finish. It already has a polished (mirrored look) on it.

Amiel
 

TC

Senior Seti Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Did you epoxy the nuts on the back of the motherboard? If not, when you're tightening the screws the stand offs and the nuts will begin turning together and the screws will not bottom out, consequently not putting the proper amount of pressure on the springs. That's what happened to me the first time I tried to tighten it. The screws kept turning, and never bottomed. I finally figured out the whole thing was twisting instead of tightening down.
 
OP
FunkyTechnician

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
TC (Apr 13, 2001 06:59 p.m.):
Did you epoxy the nuts on the back of the motherboard? If not, when you're tightening the screws the stand offs and the nuts will begin turning together and the screws will not bottom out, consequently not putting the proper amount of pressure on the springs. That's what happened to me the first time I tried to tighten it. The screws kept turning, and never bottomed. I finally figured out the whole thing was twisting instead of tightening down.


Yea, that happened to me the first time that I installed the hsf. But the second time, I held a wrench on the nylon nuts so that it wouldn't move and the copper inserts are snug and don't turn anymore. I just don't know....I'm running out of ideas to resolve the situation. I think I'll e-mail Gabe and see what he says.

Amiel
 

TC

Senior Seti Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Well in that case you need to call him. There's something strange going on. Maybe he supplied you with the incorrect screws for your config - he uses two different lengths depending on whether you opt for the cold plate. The difference is substantial, so I would think it would cause more of a problem than you're having. He builds a very high quality product, and it should perform extremely well. He needs to figure out what's going on with your setup.
 
OP
FunkyTechnician

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
TC (Apr 15, 2001 12:05 a.m.):
Well in that case you need to call him. There's something strange going on. Maybe he supplied you with the incorrect screws for your config - he uses two different lengths depending on whether you opt for the cold plate. The difference is substantial, so I would think it would cause more of a problem than you're having. He builds a very high quality product, and it should perform extremely well. He needs to figure out what's going on with your setup.


Yea, I e-mailed him today and am waiting for the response (their is a 1 year warranty according the website). I was assembling and disassembling my setup numerous times and decided to run some tests today (at stock speed) and watched miserably while my temps skyrocketed and programs crashed and lockups ensued.

It was truly sad to see that heatsink sitting on my desk while my Vantec is keeping my cool at 28C idle and 39 full load. At least I am stable now.

I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks to all those who offered help.

Amiel
 

kat

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
belding,MI,United States
i ordered the long screws i case i decided to go with a pelt later on and just placed 5 washers on each screw to get the extra presure

later i did a diferent mod cut the back of my mb tray so i could acsess the back of my mb and used longer screws and wingnuts to increase the presure a little more lost a couple of degree`s nothing great

what mb are you using? check and see if there are any components that might be holding the hs up
 
OP
FunkyTechnician

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
I'm using the Iwill KK266 and have not seen anything that can be inhibiting the hs from connecting properly. Everytime that I have removed the hsf from my mobo I can tell that the hsf is making contact with the core due to the pattern of the AS2 that is on the hs.

I know of several people who post here using the kk266 and have had no problems.

Amiel
 

kat

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
belding,MI,United States
well thats definitly an unusual problem your having.. hope gabe can offer you a solution ;D

one other idea... run a straight edge across the die and the brass conectors i did that to mine before i installed the hs for the first time (cant be to checky) i had about 1/32 of an inch between the straight edge and the brass conectors