• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

switching from usb to ethernet

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zatrix

this is probably one of the hardest tasks there is.

i have usb cable modem now and ive been using it by usb for a few years
i want to go to ethernet now to gain a 25%-50% increase in speed. i have my ehternet drivers INSTALLED. i unpluged the usb out of the back. i connected the etherenet cord to the back. and i lost internet connection. i restarted and boom still nothing. i then added the usb back and BOOM 2 seconds later i got internet. why cant i switch to ethernet?

ashenfang

The Jet Man!
Zatrix said:
this is probably one of the hardest tasks there is.

i have usb cable modem now and ive been using it by usb for a few years
i want to go to ethernet now to gain a 25%-50% increase in speed. i have my ehternet drivers INSTALLED. i unpluged the usb out of the back. i connected the etherenet cord to the back. and i lost internet connection. i restarted and boom still nothing. i then added the usb back and BOOM 2 seconds later i got internet. why cant i switch to ethernet?

First of all, you won't gain any internet speed. You internet does not use the full bandwidth of a USB port, however, I do applaud you for going to ethernet, a much more stable connection.

You are probably not able to connect because your cable company has registered your modem by mac address of the USB port, so when you change to ethernet, it throws off their UBR.

When you swtich to ethernet, unplug power from modem, count to 5, plug modem back in to power. Reboot computer. Should work, when computer is back up check your ip address. If you still have problems, contact your cable company.

germanjulian

no you dont.