• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Switech Maelstrom (My thoughts)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nimrod0031

I recently built a new pc and redid my loop with some new pieces, one being the Swiftech Maelstrom. Now I am by no means a expert but I have been watercooling pc's for almost 10 years.

The unit is solid feeling and doesn't feel cheap at all. it comes with several barb locations you can customize but I just used the ones on the back that it shipped with. I'm using the unit in the single pump setup.

Everything went in and hooked up easy but something I didn't like were the plastic clamps for the tube. They felt like they really wouldn't aid much in making sure the tube was fastened to the barb nicely. I would prefer the metal screw down clamps instead but that's nothing that a trip to the hardware store won't fix. Once I got everything hooked up this is where I had issues. I've been running the pump for about 2 weeks now with no issues once it was filled tho.

First of all the I've not used a bay res since probably 2005 so I'm not as use to that as a simple T line. When you fill this unit you can't fill it up past their full line or it will leak (I know full line means full but how about when your trying to bleed it?). If the pump was running it was fine but the second you turn it off it would start to seep out of the fill port in the top. You can imagine how hard this makes it to bleed the air out of the system when you have air bubbles coming in and you can't add more water.