• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Temp rose 5c when I installed my Enermax PSU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Has anybody ever seen this or have had it happen to them. I have worked real hard to get my temps down with way too many fans, so common sense would say, buy a bigger PSU. So I got the Enermax 431watt big doggie. This thing has 2 fans in it, I expected a lower temp, any help would be cool. Also I am attaching a snapshot of my voltages, are they supposed to be over the limits, like my 12 volt=12.5 and so on? Thanks guys
 

[Oc]acaridans

Senior Member
Joined
May 11, 2001
How many fans do you have in your case right now?
It maybe the 2nd fan on the PSU that is causing the temp rise...
Do you know if its interfering with your air flow?

If you already have severaly fans in the case it may be causing interference with the other fans by the way of air turbulance.

tyr disconnecting the 2nd fan to see if its the problem
 
W

William

Guest
it may be throwing your airflow balance way out of wack.
 

SleepyKat

Member
Joined
May 10, 2001
Does your enermax has that external temperature sensor that controls the PSU fan? My fans won't run at full speed until it get to a set temp (60?). I am waiting till the 72 hr burn in is complete and then I am going to disable it.
 
OP
TranceBear

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
SleepyKat (Jun 08, 2001 04:51 p.m.):
Does your enermax has that external temperature sensor that controls the PSU fan? My fans won't run at full speed until it get to a set temp (60?). I am waiting till the 72 hr burn in is complete and then I am going to disable it.

Yes it has that feature, I connected it just now and no change, what do you meen by disableing it? I have a total of 8 fans.
 
W

William

Guest
you can cut the thermister off and twist the two wires together so the fan runs at the full speed all the time.
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
TranceBear (Jun 08, 2001 03:55 p.m.):
Has anybody ever seen this or have had it happen to them. I have worked real hard to get my temps down with way too many fans, so common sense would say, buy a bigger PSU. So I got the Enermax 431watt big doggie. This thing has 2 fans in it, I expected a lower temp, any help would be cool. Also I am attaching a snapshot of my voltages, are they supposed to be over the limits, like my 12 volt=12.5 and so on? Thanks guys
1 ghz AVIA-Y @ 1518mhz
11 x 138 stable @ 35c (idle) 1.91v
Vantec FCE-62540D 38cfm Delta fan
Cohesive cooling
MIS K7T Turbo-Custom BIOS
256 mb PC-133 @ cas-2
NVIDIA TNT 2 AGPx4 / 32mb
NO PCI cards at all, all USB

This borders on nit picking, but since I coined the term Cohesive Air Cooling, if you put it in your signature, at least live up to it's original meaning. Lots of axial fans does not mean you are employing cohesive air cooling. Quite the contrary. Cohesive air is the kind generated by a centrifugal blower, not axial fans. It exits the blower in a solid, square tube or gush. It does not disperse into an ever increasing cone pattern, with a hole in the middle like axial fans put out. I thought I covered this adequately in my article.


This is not a slam, merely an FYI. I'm a nice guy once you get to know me. ;D

Hoot
 
OP
TranceBear

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
I followed your suggestions in your article about using the blower Hoot, and the instalation of it. When I say way too many fans, this is cause this is my first AMD and I am not used to this many. Besides the blower, I have a Video fan, 2 harddrive fans, northbridge fan, and the CPU fan. I think I may have cured my heating problem with applying the Artic Silver in a different manner. I am back down to 35c. Boy those elevated temps really scared me!! Hoot, your advice is always taken here, I need all I can get!! You should write a book..lol.
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Recovering from Foot in mouth disease. ;D

I'm not familiar with the K7T Turbo, but it seems like you are not benefitting from the"halt-on-idle" feature in your system. As I type this, my CPU load is near idle and the CPU temp is 21.2C. That is with the blower running at only 6V. Admittedly, my PC room temp is only 18.6C. I thought halt-on-idle was inherent in all KT-133A mobos, as long as you have ACPI enabled in the bios and use an ACPI compliant OS like Windows 98se or like me, Windows ME.

Hoot
 

CrystalMethod

Senior Band Wagon Jumper
Joined
Jun 9, 2001
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Just a thought because i've seen this before...
...what direction is the inner fan blowing in? If it's blowing into the case, you could try taking it out, and flipping it the other way around.
 
OP
TranceBear

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
CrystalMethod (Jun 09, 2001 03:36 p.m.):
Just a thought because i've seen this before...
...what direction is the inner fan blowing in? If it's blowing into the case, you could try taking it out, and flipping it the other way around.

The inner fan of the PSU crystalMethod? According to my booklet that came with the PSU, the bottom fan inside the box sucks in and the one on the back blows out. I felt these fans and I do not feel pressure at all, they must be very weak. My M/B reads the fan RPM to be 2500-2600.
 

CrystalMethod

Senior Band Wagon Jumper
Joined
Jun 9, 2001
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Bottom, inner, same thing. The new power supply may just run hotter than your old one, and that could be the cause. If the bottom fan is drastically changing the air-flow, that could account for some of it. Try moving you fans around, disconnecting one or more, see what readings you get. Location of the fans is very important. How many fans do you have drawing air into the case, and how many are exausting the air? You may in fact have too many fans, and the draw on that particular PSU is causing it to heat up. just a couple of thing you might want to check.
 
OP
TranceBear

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Hoot (Jun 08, 2001 11:46 p.m.):
Recovering from Foot in mouth disease. ;D

I'm not familiar with the K7T Turbo, but it seems like you are not benefitting from the"halt-on-idle" feature in your system. As I type this, my CPU load is near idle and the CPU temp is 21.2C. That is with the blower running at only 6V. Admittedly, my PC room temp is only 18.6C. I thought halt-on-idle was inherent in all KT-133A mobos, as long as you have ACPI enabled in the bios and use an ACPI compliant OS like Windows 98se or like me, Windows ME.


Hoot

Hoot, please tell me more about this ACPI, I would love to get temp like yours!! Could it be I am running Win98 1st edition? I have been thinking of running WinME, but I want it to be worth the extra $90 out of my play fund.