• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Temperatures and Hard drive recognition problems Iwill KK266 Non Raid.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Ok I have two questions:
My BIOS temp monitor is listing me at 49-50C. I have a pretty cheap HSF on this but it was the only one I could find that would fit in the case (short of taking out the PSU). That is a temporary problem if Millenium comes out with that copper HSF pretty soon. Is is safe to run it at this temp w/o OCing?

The BIOS is not picking up my Western Digital HD on each boot. It will find it one out of 3 tries. It won't locate it at all when I am in the BIOS and select Auto detect.

I have the HD plugged into IDE 0 and the CDRW into IDE 1. I have tried several settings for slave and master.... I selected the CD for 1st boot option but no go. This is probably related to something stupid but I'm missing whatever it is. Should I try and use the one cable for both drives and select slave for the CD? I haven't tried that yet. *time constraints!!*

Any advice would be appreciated
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Scratch the Temp part of the question above. I found some information on the mainpage re temps and figure I can live with this for the time being.
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
If you haven't already, check your settings in Integrated Peripherals, and make sure they are compliant with your drive. Also, and I don't know if this your problem, some WD drives have special jumper settings that aren't available in the paperwork. A friend had this problem, and he had to get the correct settings from WD tech support.
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
I haven't checked the integrated peripherals, is that in the BIOS? I must of missed that section. The drive only has 3 possible selections. Master, slave and cable select.
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
stool (Mar 29, 2001 01:03 p.m.):
If you haven't already, check your settings in Integrated Peripherals, and make sure they are compliant with your drive. Also, and I don't know if this your problem, some WD drives have special jumper settings that aren't available in the paperwork. A friend had this problem, and he had to get the correct settings from WD tech support.
I'm not seeing anything in integrated peripherals but the block mode selection. Is this what you meant?
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
Temps are OK but not great do you have any case fans, or can you possibly increase airflow somewhat?

Make sure that the HDD cable is plugged in ALL THE WAY on both board and HDD. Otherwise do you possibly have another drive to veryfy that this is not a controller problem?
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Ok thanks guys. I got the drives working. I changed the connections and added a floppy (against my will) disk so I could boot for win 2k install. I'm formatting the drive right now.

In regards to temps, it's a pretty lightweight HSF. The case is open but there are no extra fans in it. This damn case has turned out to be a pain in the @SS. Not even enough room for the cd to be slid in completely. Oh well. New case, new HSF and I'm rolling towards my first oc. Meanwhile it will be nice to have a machine that has more than 16 mb ram since my old box died and I am typing on an old laptop.

Thanks again for the input.
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
seabhac (Mar 29, 2001 02:22 p.m.):
stool (Mar 29, 2001 01:03 p.m.):
If you haven't already, check your settings in Integrated Peripherals, and make sure they are compliant with your drive. Also, and I don't know if this your problem, some WD drives have special jumper settings that aren't available in the paperwork. A friend had this problem, and he had to get the correct settings from WD tech support.
I'm not seeing anything in integrated peripherals but the block mode selection. Is this what you meant?
seabhac, I was referring to the IDE Channel controllers, master/slave settings, etc.
 
OP
S

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Thanks Stool. I got it working. Installed win2k last night and everything works but the zip drive. I'm trying to install that on the second IDE controller and so far no luck. I also have to get the networking set up. It doesn't seem to be seeing my @home connection but I should be able to get that working this weekend. The software I have is for the 95/98 and NT 4 OS and I am not sure whether it will work with 2k. Gotta contact them before installing.

Meanwhile I am loving the speed. A huge improvement over my cyrix 200 chip. Thanks for the assistance.