• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

TH7-II Hassles: Need Help Please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TechTones

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Hi guys.

I have a non raid TH7-ii flashed with the new BF bios. Running a 1.8a that can do 2700 at 1.87v. Using Kingston 1066 ram. Used pc800 to boot it up. Did pin trick and can now choose up to 2.20v in bios. Vcore off by .05v

The 1066 I have can do 152/4x in the Iwill P4R533. I can run 133/4x on the TH7, but trying higher won't boot and gives me the C1 or CF error.

Why am I having these problems? I mean 138/4x fixed PCI/AGP should boot. Can you guys help me achieve 152/4x like on my Iwill
board? What am I doing wrong?
 

Clevor

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Techtones, I guess you don't know that the TH7II comes with the ICS-03 DRCGs, not the -13s in early P4T-Es and P4T533-Cs. Thus it is only capable of between 112-144/4x for your RDRAM. The -13s go up to 156/4x. The DRCGs on your TH7II probably are only good for 133/4x - it's pretty much the luck of the draw.

My board does 142/4x, but you need PC800-45s or PC1066 that can surpass that to check. For example, my PC800-45 maxes out at 145/4x on my P4T-E, and since I can only boot OK up to 142/4x on my TH7II, I come to the conclusion my board is limited to that.

Since you know your PC1066 does 152/4x, it's pretty much the board. But some people do have problems running PC1066 on the TH7II (like me), so best way to test is with some good PC800 that can do over 145/4x.
 
OP
TechTones

TechTones

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Hmm I'm going to replace the drcgs' with some 600mhz ones from TI. The thing is why can't I do 140/3x then?

I did know they are the 9212-03's and I have an Iwill board that has the ICs -13's. But I see many people doing 170/3x if their cpu can do it. Is there a problem running 1066 at 3x?
 
Last edited:

Clevor

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Techtones, it's because the Kingston PC1066 is known to only do 4x on the TH7II, if you can run them at all. They won't do 3x. That's why I just bought some spare 256 MB 16-device PC800-45; you can't beat them for versatility.
 
OP
TechTones

TechTones

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
So, it looks like the DRCG's.

I'm going to try and replace them. There is a TI distributor near me. I'll ask for some samples and have then soldered in.

So you're telling me people that are doing 170/3x are using PC800?

I do have some Samsung ES 1066 sticks I haven't tried yet.
Can those do 3x?

They aren't the greatest rimms that's why I didn't try them yet.
 

Clevor

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Techtones, to clarify: the ICS-03s are what limit your 4x overclock with either PC800 or PC1066; they usually max out at 144/4x and many guys can only do 133/4x on the TH7II.

The Kingston PC1066 cannot do 3x on the TH7II, only 4x. Don't know about the Samsung E/S.

Even at just 133/4x, you can do 133x4 divided by 3 or 177/3x max. This should satisfy most people. You will need PC800 for this on that board.

If you change to the TI DRCGs, you might be able to do 150-160/4x, however that depends on your PC800 or PC1066. Most PC800 won't do over 145/4x.
 
OP
TechTones

TechTones

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Thanks for clearing that up, but one thing.

The Sammy PC800-45 I have does 133/4x just fine. My CPU can do up to a 152 FSB.

Why can't I do 145/3x or 150/3x with the 800 then if it does 133/4x which is equal to 177/3x??
 

Clevor

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Techtones, if you can't do 145 or 150/3x with PC800, I imagine you must have messed up your board with the PC1066. I guess you can try putting only PC800 back in and running a whole bunch of memory stress tests and 3D to get it get it acclimated again.

On my TH7II, I tried the bit about PC800 in the first slots than PC1066 in the back slots but I kept getting blue screens so I gave up. Plus the Kingston PC1066 I tried were crap and only did 142/4x, worse than my PC800, and no 3x so it was a moot point. Not even worth running them unless you can get sticks that do 150+ like you have. But I believe to do 150+ the VRIMM needs to be boosted and it's a chore on the TH7II.
 
OP
TechTones

TechTones

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Clevor said:
Techtones, if you can't do 145 or 150/3x with PC800, I imagine you must have messed up your board with the PC1066. I guess you can try putting only PC800 back in and running a whole bunch of memory stress tests and 3D to get it get it acclimated again.

On my TH7II, I tried the bit about PC800 in the first slots than PC1066 in the back slots but I kept getting blue screens so I gave up. Plus the Kingston PC1066 I tried were crap and only did 142/4x, worse than my PC800, and no 3x so it was a moot point. Not even worth running them unless you can get sticks that do 150+ like you have. But I believe to do 150+ the VRIMM needs to be boosted and it's a chore on the TH7II.

No prob I did the vrimm mod in a couple min. How could I mess up the board with 1066? I didn't mention one thing. This board is a refurbished board I got from Newegg for $48 shipped. But I think they are new old stock. Everything included and it looks new. I mean have you ever seen a board messed up from trying 1066 on it first??
 

Clevor

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Well you have to trick the board into running PC1066 right? So maybe you have to trick it back to PC800, I dunno. You are messing with the BIOs a bit.

If you are trying for >150/4x, the TH7II is not the way to go. The P4T-E with ICS-13s should do it, but I have yet to hear of someone. I can't get 16-bit RDRAM that can do over 150/4x yet so I can't try. I've tried two sets of Kingston PC1066 and my last batch was the defective ones so I am still waiting for the replacement.

Or go P4T533, assuming they have now fixed the boards. Mine is doing 4050 bandwidth at 162/4x, with a recent batch of Samsung RIMM4200.
 
OP
TechTones

TechTones

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
I also have the Iwill P4R533. It's a good stable board but top fsb is 156. I can do 152/4x with my Kingston. You see my Kingston is using Toshiba chips. Now they stopped making rdram so it's all Samsuey now. The chips do 150/4x at default vrimm but needed goosing for 152/4x.

I have my eye on the new Epox 4t4AU but will not buy it until some reviews and the Kingston 4200's become available. Only those sticks work in the board. I wonder if using those in the Asus board would clear up the problems even though I heat Asus has fixed the problem.

I should be getting an iwill 845HT very very soon for review on our site. www.thenakedreview.com So stop by and chat if you wish. You seem like a very nice guy.