• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The Best Ti4200-card

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
Which Ti4200-card would be (is) your choice (vote), if the card you desire isn't in the vote please vote "Other" and specify which card in a post.

The Ti4200-cards that participate in the poll are the fastest out there, the fastest I have found though.
Please do make remarks about things like:
- Stability
- Overclocking potential
- How good is the bundle (DVI, TV-out/in, Dual View...)?
- Quality
- Cooling (how good is the bundled cooling? does it overclock good with it?...)


Here follows som links to the Ti4200-cards:

Abit:
Abit GeForce 4 Ti4200 OTES Review - DeviantPC
ABIT Siluro GF4 Ti4200 OTES, ASUS V8420S Video Cards Review

Albatron:
Albatron GeForce4 Ti4200P-Turbo 128MB Review
Albatron Medusa GeForce4 Ti 4200P Turbo

Aopen:
AOpen Aeolus Ti 4200 S (128Mb 3.6ns)

Asus:
ABIT Siluro GF4 Ti4200 OTES, ASUS V8420S Video Cards Review

Chaintech:
Chaintech GeForce 4 Ti4200 VGA Review

Gainward:
Gainward GF4 Ultra/650 XP Golden Sample

Leadtek:
Leadtek WinFast A250 LE TD GeForce4 Ti4200 (128Mb 3.6ns)

Point of View:
Point of View Ti4200XP

Please do submit links and other cool stuff to info about these or other fast Ti4200-cards.
 
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
Wan't to create a poll

To create a poll when you post a new thread, simply click the 'Yes! post a poll' checkbox at the bottom of the page, and set the number of possible responses you want to include.
There wasn't any "'Yes! post a poll'" checkbox when I created this thread so I couldn't create a poll, someone please help me, what have I done wrong?

Do you have to post like 100 post before you can create a poll or what?
 
Last edited:
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
james.miller said:
no - you have to be a mod
That sucks ;( can you ask a mod to add a poll to an existing thread then? (like this one)
 

baqai

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
I have Aopen card but with 4ns memory, till now i am one happy customer :)

BTW its soo stupid (a thumbs down for Aopen in a way) the registered copy of Win Producer which came along with the card is not working .. why?? its not accepting the cdkey .. beats me :rolleyes:
 

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
id say try to get a card with <3.3ns ram.

the albatrons have 3.3ns, and ti4200 are soon going to be released with 2.8ns.

the faster the better, although the gf4 ti's would benifit with faster cores more than the would with faster ram
 
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
Awaiting poll for thread

james.miller said:
yes you can. pm one of the mods to find out more
Thanks for the help I have sent a PM to cw823 in hope that he will add a poll to this thread ASAP, meanwhile plz post your thoughts on the Ti4200-cards.
 
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
james.miller said:
id say try to get a card with <3.3ns ram.

the albatrons have 3.3ns, and ti4200 are soon going to be released with 2.8ns.

the faster the better, although the gf4 ti's would benifit with faster cores more than the would with faster ram
Kickass, I didn't know that (about the 2.8ns mem) then it will overclock even further. You're right it would however benefit more with faster cores, but if you think of the price for the Ti4200-cards you get a lot performance for little money :)
 

baqai

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
since we don't get stuff here i had to order mine :) what i ordered was MSI and what i got was AOPEN .. oh well i am not complaining i am happy :)

As for bundle, nothing much with Aopen, came with Win DVD (which i dont use and prefer power dvd anytime) and Win Producer (which i tried using and ended up finding that the cdkey they provided was not working DUH!!)

NO DVI convertor :mad:

Card comes with cables for VIVO which is good (and worthless to me right now)

Card IS stable with stock cooling

haven't oc'ed it so can't comment on that

2.8ns ?? woah !! that would be great
 

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
a better core would still bring better performance, though.

think pentiumII........on 400mhz ddr. overkill? yes.

this situation isnt anywhere near as bad, of course. But you get the idea lol
 
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
james.miller said:
a better core would still bring better performance, though.

think pentiumII........on 400mhz ddr. overkill? yes.

this situation isnt anywhere near as bad, of course. But you get the idea lol
True, but then the price would rice quite a bit I can imagine and it wouldn't maybe be cheaper to buy a Ti4400 or Ti4600 since you then would get more performance for less money. Or have I got you wrong? The Ti4400 is a better core then the Ti4200 is that what you mean?
 
Last edited:

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
no - the ti4200,4400 and 4600 all use the same core.

what im saying is it would be better if nvida brought in a new core stepping that o/ced better (360mhz+ would be nice)

that, coupled with the 3.3ns ram that is allready being put on some cards, would make a much better performer.

example:
a gf4 at 365/690 core/ram
would most probable perform better than a
gf4 at 305/720 core/ram
 
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
I get you :)

The thing with stepping core in for ex. CPUs and Graphic-cards I haven't got really though, but I will study some more about it.
 

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
BoB NaPaLm said:
I reackon the Albatron is the best ti 4200 as it has the faster ram and a lovely copper heatsink onboard. :)

and you base that on what?

so far there are only a hand full of people who have had good results. the rest of the people with the albatron ti4200 turbo's only managed very average overclocks.

it is also one of the most expensive ti4200's.

is it the best? i dont know. certain example have gained the highest ti4200 speeds yes, but those few examples do not show what most people are getting with the albatron ti4200 turbo.

hold your horses and dont be so quick to judge.
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Narf City, USA
There are 3 revisions I know of for the GF4 core, A1, A2, and A3... A3 is the latest revision and A1 the oldest. My PNY Ti4400 was an A2 and couldn't go past 300mhz. My Visiontek Ti4600 has an A3 and went to 315mhz stock, 325mhz modded. This has been the general trend with the cores from what I've seen in other's results.
 

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
I have had two albatrons 128mb turbos in the past week i rma'd one and am keepin this one.

the first one would do 290/615 stable only.

the one i have now does 294/630 stable. i lapped the heatsink and did artic silver tho. before lapping it did 290/635

both are A3 cores. the new albatrons do not seem to be worth the extra $$$ as they do not do ti4600 speeds as claimed

i had a gainward 128mb and was quite pleased w/ it. it did 330/540 STOCK cooling with artic silver 2. i killed it tho tryin to put ramsinks on :-(
 
OP
XiOUS

XiOUS

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
Sweden
Emericana: 294/630 seems a little low, I mean POV XP-card does 310/650 (with stock cooling)
You can overclock this card to 310 / 650
Quote from POV's homepage: www.pointofview-online.com
They really write it on their own homepage.
It seems like if you're lucky you can overclock the Albatron to great speeds but the POV XP-card holds the promise and overclock to Ti4600-speeds and beyond