• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The brightness changes and flashes. How do I fix it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Calculusaurus

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 955df 19" two-tone. Sometimes I get this brightness flickering problem. This problem occurs about 50% of the time its on, and the other 50% of the time it works perfectly. When this problem occurs, the screen becomes generally brighter and blurrier. The brightness begins to change at maybe 5-10 times per second. It randomly pulsates. So when I look at a black screen, it flashes and pulsates to different shades of grey. Has anyone heard of this problem occuring?

Extra info:
-I've been using this monitor for 1.5 months. The problem first started occuring a week ago. Now it occurs very often, whereas a week ago it occured rarely.
-The monitor shuts off after 15 minutes of being idle (WinXP setting), yet I use the computer very frequently, so it's usually on.
-All of the possible fixes I could think of don't work; these include: changing the resolution, changing the refresh rate, changing every possible setting in the monitor menu (the menu brought up by pressing the buttons on the monitor's front panel), and checking samsung.com for any solution or hint to this problem.

Thanks for the help.

OP
C

Calculusaurus

Hi Calculusaurus.