• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The future of our HDs?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RubiX³

This is more of a discussion than a question, although I'd like to get some opinions.
This weekend, I was upgrading a Tivo - the second one I've done. I pulled the 40 gig maxtor out, and put in 2 160gig 7200 RPM ata133 Maxtors - for a total of 242 hours of digital quality storage, up from 35. Now, I started thinking: I'm sure most of you have noticed how the warranties of new HDs (120 gigs and up, I think), especially Maxtor HDs, has dropped to a year.

I remember back in the day reading about the new "20" gig hds that were coming out. I remember seeing many articles on the reliability of such a large drive. That turned out ok - I've been running a 20 gig Maxtor for 5 years now without a hitch.

In fact, my luck with HDs has always been great. Even my first one - a 1 meg Amiga drive for 100 bucks. I've NEVER lost one through any fault but my own.