• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The HD cable comes with the motherboard is ATA100 or ATA66?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
hey,

I just put up another system with a WD SE in it, but it only gave me a HD score of 800- points on PCmark2002. The same HD tested before was around 1000 points.(another WD SE of mine also gave me around 1000 points) But this time I used a cable from the retail motherboard box. So I am thinking if it's a ATA66 cable. There is no label on it. Any ideas?
(the other system with one ATA133 cable is running something, I don't want to turn it off to switch the cables to test this one)
 
Last edited:
OP
oops

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Could you please make it more clear? You mean those cables are ATA100??
 
OP
oops

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Robbie said:
count the wires. A ATA100 cable will have 80 wires on it. A ATA66 will only have 40.
Rob

ok thanks

That one has 40 wires, so it's one ATA66 cable. Actually all the regular IDE cables I have are all ATA66 I think. The only ATA133 cable I have is one round cable. Anyway, I just ordered another round ATA133 cable from newegg. I should have the full HD speed back with that one.
 
OP
oops

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
So you are saying all the regular IDE cables I have are ATA33?

That's silly that the mobo has ATA100 ports on it and they sent ATA33 cables along with it......
 

engjohn

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
SoCal
aftermath said:
actuly ata 66 and ata 100 cable both have 80 pins thats why they are called 80 conductore cables its the ata 33 and below that have 40 wires!

Not 80 pins, just 80 wires/conductors...
ultra66/100/133 80wire 40 pin
ultra 33 and slower 40wire 40pin
 

Robbie

Member
Joined
May 9, 2001
Location
A hot spot in Ca
oops said:
So you are saying all the regular IDE cables I have are ATA33?

That's silly that the mobo has ATA100 ports on it and they sent ATA33 cables along with it......

Just another way for them to save money and make more from you!!
Rob
 
OP
oops

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
then they should just don't put any cable in there if they really want to make more money. And I do think the cable should come with the hard drive.
 

lonewolf1983

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
perth, Australia
yup all ata66/100/133 cables are 80 wire/40 pin
ata33 caables are 40 wire/40 pins
they put them in since many older cdroms still max out at ata33, but of course most good mobo makers now include the ata100 cables ;)