• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

theres something wrong with my V9, or installation 49c load!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rippedsocks

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
this is way to much for me... im running and axp 2400+ and even @ stock speeds it this hot... i think somethings wrong with my installion or something. Also to run the fan @ full speed does the jumper need to be on (mine is on)? because my smartcase fan II (in my case not my cpu one) runs a lot faster.. it has the jumper on as well but my V9 came with the jumper off. Should i remove the little rubber things on my cpu ? (the 4 things on all the corners) for better transfer? Im using AS3 and i lapped my V9 with 600 grit paper so i mean i dunno whats going on.. ive only got 1.7 volts @ 157x14 .... whats going on?!! this temp is unacceptable
 

rustymaitland

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Location
Toronto, ON
rippedsocks said:
this is way to much for me... im running and axp 2400+ and even @ stock speeds it this hot... i think somethings wrong with my installion or something. Also to run the fan @ full speed does the jumper need to be on (mine is on)? because my smartcase fan II (in my case not my cpu one) runs a lot faster.. it has the jumper on as well but my V9 came with the jumper off. Should i remove the little rubber things on my cpu ? (the 4 things on all the corners) for better transfer? Im using AS3 and i lapped my V9 with 600 grit paper so i mean i dunno whats going on.. ive only got 1.7 volts @ 157x14 .... whats going on?!! this temp is unacceptable

i took the smart fan II off of my V9 and put it on an ax-7. with that said, the jumper has to stay on to run full out so leave it on. you said you used 600g paper to lap the hs. is that the only grade you used? is the surface area that comes in contact with the cpu smooth? how much as3 did you apply? and where did you apply it? the hs and the cpu? leave the rubber thingys on.
 
OP
rippedsocks

rippedsocks

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
i applied it on the hs, rubbed it with a hand in a plastice bag, whiped it off, then put some on the core faltened it and mounted the HS.... maybe its not level i dunno
 

Jkasmann

Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Location
St Louis, MO
yeah, remount and make sure AS3 is totally covering the core, and that the heatsink is making good contact.....you can try putting AS3 only on the heatsink and mounting it, then take it off and make sure the core is totally covered by AS3 (ie, the whole core is making contact with the heatsink). If its all good, reapply AS3 like you did and remount.

Hopefully thatll fix it!
 
OP
rippedsocks

rippedsocks

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
tried it again.... temps are the same.... i think im gonna try with my generic thermal compound and if the temps go down... then wtf!
 

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
dude, that version of the xp chip is hella hot, what mobo u running? is it an on die sensor or in socket, if its on die, your absolutely fine.
 
OP
rippedsocks

rippedsocks

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
its in a7v8x and i dont no what kinda sensor it has but in the bios it reports those temps as well as in asus probe
 

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
i looked at the website, couldnt see an in socket thermistor -- usually its in the socket under the chip, its very noticable. if that isnt there, your readings are most likely on die, and 49 c on die is not half bad considering your heatsink and the ammount of heat that xp chip gives off .