• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Thinking of going Water Cooled

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Azeroth

Hey all,

I am thinking of converting my sistem from air cooled to water cooled and knowing almost nothing about watercooling I was wondering are there any good guides out there on what components I need to get for water cooling and how to put em all together. Also I was wondering how much it would cost me to water cool my machine? My budget is around $200 max right now. Thank you all for your help!

TWISM

Registered
I too am just learning, read the stickies there is a wealth of knowledge in them.

batboy

Senior Moment
I just ordered my first water cooling system a few days ago, so I'm a H2O newbie and don't having much personal experience, but I have researched the heck out of the subject. There is a ton of info available if you search the forum or look out on the web. My impression is this... don't skimp on the water block or the pump. The Dangerden Maze water block is a worthy consideration. The radiator is one thing you can save some cash on if you scrounge around and find a decent car heater core for cheap. Modding your own case will save you cash too. Having a $200 budget will be tight, but you can do it with patience and lots of shopping around. PM people with water cooling rigs (preferably guys that have been successfully doing this a long time). Several of the senior members here at the forum are water cooling experts. Good luck!

EDIT: If you haven't been to this link before, it's well worth checking out. Especially read the "stickies" by Cathar and Jono.

http://discuss.futuremark.com/forum/postlist.pl?Cat=&Board=techmodding

Last edited:

Toysrme

$150 $150 $150.

Guides and how to's are everywhere... Read the section devoted to watercooling on the frontpage LoL!