• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

This is good, right?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
170FSB.jpg


170Mhz FSB and climbing!! Woot!

It took me two weeks to finally give in and accept that *maybe*
I had a bad system board and it wasn't me, or bad memory,
or a bad Power Supply. I ran down to Microcenter and picked
up the EXACT same board, from the exact same store, and even
the exact same shelf! And already I see that this new board
has a newer BIOS (Jan 18th) and the BIOS chip has a different
number on the sticker. I don't know if this makes any difference,
but THIS ONE OVERCLOCKS!!

I'm returning this bad board tomorrow. I'm pretty ****ed cause
this is the 3rd IWILL board that I've had to return because
something just wasn't quite right. One wouldn't keep the time
no matter how fresh the BIOS battery was. One was way way
overvoltage (like 20%) and wouldn't run stable even at stock,
and this last one wouldn't read the processor speed correctly
nor could I flash the BIOS which I was hoping would fix the
first problem.

Before I gave in and swapped this board, I was SURE I was
losing my overclocking edge!

Back to overclocking! Wish me luck!
 

Sir-Epix

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2001
Location
Lansing, MI
Sweet rig! What are the times on that baby. It sounds like bragging to me :0) I think there will be a post next Sunday for you. Something like...a challange. Stay tuned, cuz I am going to stir some stuff up here. The Secret continues...[Beware]
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
Damn right I'm bragging!

I really thought I was losing me skillz! I've been going through
motherboards lately like they were going outa style! I FINALLY
got something that looks like it will work right!

Now if I can just unlock the damn processor correctly! Grrrr.

I set it for 5X it does 10X
I set it for 6X and it locks
I set it for 7X it does 7X
I set it for 8X it does 7.5X
I set it for 9X I get 8.5 (sometimes)
I set it for 10X it crashes
I set it for 11X (stock 1700+) and it run at 11X

I think I need to hit it with the silver pen again! Grrr...
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
Woot! Movin on up!!

174X9.jpg


Hahaha! I'm so stoaked!!

Notice the Multiplier difference? You guys will NEVER believe how
I unlocked the *******! I used a damn paintbrush! I think I need
to test this method on my other processor (as soon as I replace
the system board) and then ask Joe if I can borrow his camera!
This deserves some close ups!

<overlymelodramaticvoice> Suddenly...I feel like.....an
OVERCLOCKER again....(sob) </overlymelodramaticvoice>
 

bobt17

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Location
Michigan
well i'm not to far off from that fsb :) once i get my new pc2700 i will get higher i am sure of it take a look...
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
Woot! 175 and climbing!

I do wish I had some better memory though. This OCZ PC-3000
might run this fast, but with all the settings at 2.5 and FAST
rather then UltraFAST or whatever.

I can't seem to break 175 now. I wish I had some control over
the DDR voltage and stuff..hmmm....

I'm SO happy I unlocked this damn processor. It took me about
5 trys to get it right! I was really starting to question my skillz!

hehe
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Lonely Raven said:
Woot! 175 and climbing!

I do wish I had some better memory though. This OCZ PC-3000
might run this fast, but with all the settings at 2.5 and FAST
rather then UltraFAST or whatever.

I can't seem to break 175 now. I wish I had some control over
the DDR voltage and stuff..hmmm....

I'm SO happy I unlocked this damn processor. It took me about
5 trys to get it right! I was really starting to question my skillz!

hehe

What kind of board do you have? Perhaps there is some kind of volt mod that allows the ram adjustment to kick in.



Yodums
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
It's an IWILL XP333 Rev 2.1

There is a setting that says something like "10% voltage
increase" which does just what it says (at the expense of
the 12v it seems), and boosts the 5v and the core voltage.
But I don't see any settings to tell me about the DDR voltage.

I suppose I could volt mod the DDR, but with my luck with
Mobos I'd have to swap it out in a month, and that might be
hard to do with extra resistors and wires soldered onto it.

Plus as of lately, I'm honestly worried about my mods. I've never
had so much hardware die so consecutively before, and I've
been doing MAD MODS for about 6 years now!